Databases for Civil Engineering Research
- Compendex This link opens in a new window Primary engineering database with coverage back to 1884. Contains links to SCOPUS.
- ProQuest SciTech Premium Collection This link opens in a new window Multidisciplinary sci-tech database with full-text articles including scholarly and trade. Includes ASCE Civil Engineering article database.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window SCOPUS is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window IEEE Xplore is an interdisciplinary database focusing primarily on electronics, electrical, computer science & computer engineering.
Selected Books in Civil Engineering
Prestressed Concrete Bridges by
Prestressed concrete decks are commonly used for bridges with spans between 25m and 450m and provide economic, durable and aesthetic solutions in most situations where bridges are needed. Concrete remains the most common material for bridge construction around the world, and prestressed concrete is frequently the material of choice.
Call Number: eBookPublication Date: 2004
Handbook of Alkali-Activated Cements, Mortars and Concretes by
This book provides an updated state-of-the-art review on new developments in alkali-activation.
Call Number: eBookPublication Date: 2014
Construction Operations Manual of Policies and Procedures, Fifth Edition by
The latest tools and techniques for successfully managing construction operations CONSTRUCTION. Fully revised throughout, the new edition of this practical guide offers a wealth of proven strategies for effectively running a construction business, delivering high-quality projects on time and within budget, and maximizing profits--all gleaned from the authors' decades long experience in the construction industry.
Call Number: eBookPublication Date: 2014
ICE Virtual Library
Although the UK Libraries have hundreds of eBooks accessible and searchable via InfoKat Discovery, here is a direct link to an eBook collection that has materials useful for civil engineers.
- ICE Virtual Library This link opens in a new windowUK Libraries has selected eBooks from the Institution of Civil Engineers eBooks collection from 2000 - present.
Walnut Lane Bridge, Philadelphia, Historic American Engineering Record (HAER) photo. This documentary photo, taken in 1968, shows the Walnut Lane Bridge span, comprised of a parallel series of prestressed, post-tensioned concrete beams, aligned closely together. Source: Library of Congress.
Engineering Librarian
Susan K Smith
Contact:
Science & Engineering Library
Office: 310G
M.I. King Bldg. - South
179 Funkhouser Drive
Office: 310G
M.I. King Bldg. - South
179 Funkhouser Drive
257-7176
Website
Subjects: Earth & Environmental Sciences, Engineering