Research Guides: CE 599: Getting Started

Selected Books in Civil Engineering

Inside the Civano Project by Al Nichols; Jason Laros A First-Hand Look at the High-Performance Civano Development This GreenSource book offers a complete survey of Civano, the largest high-performance mixed-use community in the United States. Located in Tucson, Arizona, Civano encompasses high standards of resource conservation, sustainability, and solar energy use.
Call Number: TH24.A6 N53 2010 (5th Floor Young); eBook
Publication Date: 2009
Urban Resilience for Emergency Response and Recovery by Gian Paolo Cimellaro Introduces the concepts of Resilience-Based Design (RBD) as an extension of Performance-Based Design, providing a range of methodologies for evaluating resilience and clarifies the difference between resilience, vulnerability and sustainability.
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2016-05-31
Disaster science and management by Tushar Bhattacharya
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2012

ICE Virtual Library

Although the UK Libraries have hundreds of eBooks accessible and searchable via InfoKat Discovery, here is a direct link to an eBook collection that has materials useful for civil engineers.

ICE Virtual Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
UK Libraries has selected eBooks from the Institution of Civil Engineers eBooks collection from 2000 - present.

Databases for Humanitarian Engineering Research

Compendex This link opens in a new window Primary engineering database covering all fields.
- This link opens in a new window
ProQuest SciTech Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracting of science and technology research, including full-text journals and detailed indexing of global literature on natural sciences, engineering and technology. Areas covered include materials science, aerospace engineering, civil engineering, biology, aquatic sciences, environmental science, computer science and earth sciences.
Scopus This link opens in a new window Engineering cited database with scholarly articles.
- This link opens in a new window
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window Extensive Science and social sciences literature database back to the early 20th century.
- This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window MEDLINE includes citations and abstracts on such topics as microbiology, delivery of health care (medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system and preclinical sciences), nutrition, pharmacology, and environmental health.
- This link opens in a new window
Dissertations and Theses Global (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Dissertations and theses from outside UK although there may be some UK ones as well
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary full-text database with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Indexes and abstracts more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.