Definition of Classical Mythology
Classical mythology, Greek and Roman mythology, and Greco-Roman mythology all refer to both the study of and the body of myths from the ancient Greeks and Romans. These myths have continued to have strong influence on the art, literature, and culture of the Western world.
Modern & Classical Languages Librarian
Getting Started on your Research
- Research 101Research 101 demonstrates in general terms the process of starting a research project.
- Writing CenterIndividual and group consultations for all UK students, faculty, and staff with the process of composing and communicating in writing, speaking, and multimedia projects across the curriculum.
The Chicago Manual of Style by 
This link opens in a new window
Call Number: REF Z253 .U69 2017Publication Date: 17th ed.Shows the preferred citation method for use in your research paper for your sources. Full-Text of the standard style manual, 17th edition. Limited to 25 simultaneous users.
Finding images of mythological figures
Below are some options for finding information on or images of art depicting Greek and Roman mythology. This would include works from the Greco-Roman period along with works from later periods that were inspired by classical mythology.
- Oxford Art Online
- This link opens in a new window
This resource has articles about images as well as images of the art works.
- British Museum: Collection OnlineOver 900,000 images representative of the Museum's 3,500,000 objects.
Terms of Use - National Gallery of Art, Washington, DCExplore thousands of the most significant works of art from the Renaissance to the present day.
Quick Articles on Myths, Heroes, and Monsters
Below are some reference sources on Greek and Roman mythology. They should provide a short explanation of who is who as well as possible resources for a deeper understanding.
- Oxford Reference / Classical Studies reference books
- This link opens in a new window
Ready-reference book collection. Search or browse the Classics subject. Search within a book or search the whole database of Oxford Reference. - Gale Virtual Reference Library
- This link opens in a new window
A database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. - Films on Demand
- This link opens in a new window
This video library contains a program on classical mythology as well as some other programs talking about the influence of mythology in general on art and literature.
Resources - Databases
- JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
JSTOR indexes key journals in the areas of art, literature, religion, and history, so it is a rich resource for articles on Greco-Roman mythology and its influence. - Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database you may have used in other classes. It is a good resource for articles and book chapters on Greek and Roman mythology. - L'Annee Philologique
- This link opens in a new window
This is a specialized database for classicists. Some of the articles may assume a reading knowledge of Greek and Latin as well as some familiarity with the authors and characters mentioned.
InfoKat Discovery - One way to find resources
- InfoKat Discovery This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This will search articles, books and media across the library catalog and other databases that the library owns. Some of the material found here may only be available through ILL.. - InfoKat Discovery Advanced Search
- This link opens in a new window
This goes directly to the advance search screen to let you narrow your search from the beginning.
