Finding book reviews
Book reviews can be found using a number of different resources.
JSTOR excels at providing critical book reviews. When searching for reviews in JSTOR be sure to utilize the "Review" filter.
Look for this type of filter in other databases such as Academic Search Complete.
Critical reviews can also be found in major newspapers like the New York Times.
The Libraries' InfoKat Discovery is a great tool, too, for locating book reviews in all disciplines. When searching in InfoKat Discovery for book reviews, be sure to refine your search results under "Resource Type" to "Reviews."
Book Reviews - Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowMulti-disciplinary full-text database with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Indexes and abstracts more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.
- Book Review Index PlusContains citations to more than 2 million reviews from scholarly journals, popular magazines and newspapers. Search fields include author, date, illustrator, audiobook reader, review length, reading level, review source and type, reviewer, work title, and review title.
- InfoKat Discovery This link opens in a new windowInfoKat Discovery allows you to quickly search multiple UK library resources simultaneously, including books, journal articles, dissertations, government documents, archives and special collections, images, maps, videos, music and open access content. InfoKat Discovery does NOT include all of the journal articles available through our databases.
- JSTORSearchable full-text journal backfile collection. Individual titles are listed in the E-Journals A-Z.
- New York TimesRead recent stories from the New York Times. Includes full text and, since May 2020, some selected images. Coverage: 1980-current
- New York Times Historical EditionSearchable full-text from ProQuest, with keyword searching and date limiting. This title is part of Proquest Historical Newspapers.
