Helpful Books for a Starting Point
An Introduction to Sustainable Development by ISBN: 0415069548Publication Date: 1993-12-16Development which meets the needs of the present without compromising the ability of future generations to meet their own needs. This is the definition from the Brundtland report. This book works to examine how and why we need to work not only on environmental concerns but global welfare concerns as well.
International Development by ISBN: 9781446266823Publication Date: 2017-08-04How can we lay the foundation for a more just and peaceful world? How can we prevent communications from fracturing and societies from tearing themselves apart? How should we prioritize economic, social, and cultural demands for resources and opportunities? International Development answers these questions and presents a view of development "in practice."
Green Development by ISBN: 0415080509Publication Date: 1992-07-10Adams analyses the evolution of the concept of `sustainable development' and assesses how this can be applied in the real world. Bridging the gap between ecology and development studies, he argues that the `greeness' of development planning is not to be found in a concern for ecology of the environment, but in control, power and self-determination.
Databases for More Information
- JSTOR Sustainability This link opens in a new windowJSTOR Sustainability was built in collaboration with librarians, scholars, and policy researchers, and brings together key journals as well as open research reports from leading think tanks worldwide. The collection looks at sustainability and resilience through a broad lens, and spans more than 30 disciplines.
- Agriculture and Environmental Science CollectionsIncludes the AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management) and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. This database includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources covering such topics as the effects of pollution on people and animals and environmental action and policy responses.
Getting More Resources/Information
This page is for anyone interested in materials to help them get started with sustainability or helpful materials for subjects that might be outside the area of this specific guide.
Books - Please use the Libraries Catalog for more book resources. It's fairly easy to use and has so many options for you
Databases - There are so many different databases here at UK! I'm sure I barely scratched the surface with this guide. There is ton of information to be gained there!
Other Guides - There are plenty of other guides that would provide amazing background and supplement information for this one. Please check them out if you have the time.
Librarians! - Also, you can always use the other librarians here at UK! There more than happy to help. They've been a great service to me in creating the guide and I'm sure they'd be more than willing to assist anyone else as well.
Helpful Guide
Journal
- Journal of Environmental HealthA journal publication by the National Environmental Health Association