Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

European Union Publications: Home

About the EU

EU Flag

The European Union connects 28 countries through common economics and politics. Following the Second World War, Belgium, France, Germany, Italy, Luxembourg, and the Netherlands united under the European Coal and Steel Community (ECSC) in order to restore peace between the communities. Later organizations, the European Economic Community (EEC) and the European Atomic Energy Community (Euratom), would join forces to form the European Communities. After further countries joined, the Maastricht Treaty of 1993 formed the European Union as we know it today.

For further information on the European Union, follow these links:

European Union

Oral History Librarian

Profile Photo
Jennifer Bartlett
Louie B. Nunn Center for Oral History
405A King Library
University of Kentucky Libraries
Lexington, KY 40506-0039

EU News