Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

French & Francophone Studies: French-Speaking Countries

This page shows you how to get the most from our library resources for finding good information for your research projects.

French-Speaking Countries

Country Continent Belgium Europe Benin Africa Burkina Faso Africa Burundi Africa Cameroon Africa Canada -- also: Quebec North America Central African Republic Africa Chad Africa Comoros Africa Congo (Brazzaville) Africa DR Congo (Kinshasa) Africa Djibouti Africa Equatorial Guinea Africa France Europe Gabon Africa Guinea Africa Haiti Caribbean Ivory Coast -- see also: Côte d'Ivoire Africa Luxembourg Europe Madagascar Africa Mali Africa Monaco Europe Niger Africa Rwanda Africa Senegal Africa Seychelles Africa Switzerland -- also: Suisse Europe Togo Africa Vanuatu Oceania

Overseas Departments and Regions of France = Territoires d'outre-mer = TOM

France - national flag. French Overseas Department and Region Continent and Location
Coat of arms of Department of French Guiana French Guiana Africa.  An Indian Ocean island in East Africa, located east of Madagascar.
Coat of arms of Guadeloupe Guadeloupe North America: Caribbean. An archipelago comprising six inhabited islands — Basse-Terre, Grande-Terre, Marie-Galante, La Désirade, and the two inhabited Îles des Saintes. Located north of Dominica.
Coat of arms of Martinique Martinique North America: Caribbean. Small island located in the Lesser Antilles of the West Indies.
Coat of arms of Department of Mayotte Mayotte Africa. Small islands within the Comoros Archipelago. Consists of the main island, Grande-Terre (also known as Maore), the smaller island of Petite-Terre (also known as Pamanzi), and several islets around these two islands. Located in the northern Mozambique Channel in the Indian Ocean off the coast of Southeast Africa.
 Coat of arms of Réunion Réunion Africa. Small Indian Ocean island in East Africa, located east of Madagascar. Former name: Île Bourbon

Ministère des Outre-mer: About France's Overseas Territories (Territoires d'outre-mer)

Dependent entities

Entity Status Continent
 Aosta Valley Autonomous region of Italy Europe
 Clipperton Minor territory of France directly held by the government Central America. Located in Pacific Ocean, due west of Costa Rica.
 French Polynesia Overseas collectivity of France Oceania
 French Southern and Antarctic Lands Overseas collectivity of France Africa and Antarctica
 New Caledonia Collectivity of France with special status Oceania
 Saint-Barthélemy Overseas collectivity of France North America: Caribbean.
 Saint-Martin Overseas collectivity of France North America: Caribbean.
 Saint-Pierre and Miquelon -- see also: Saint-Pierre et Miquelon Overseas collectivity of France North America: Located in the North Atlantic due east of Newfoundland and Labrador.
 Wallis and Futuna Overseas collectivity of France Oceania