Japan Studies: Databases, Ebooks, Digital Archives for Japan Studies

Western-language database for research on East, Southeast, and South Asia. Covers a broad range of subjects with special focus on the humanities and social sciences.

Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations.

ヨミダス歴史館
Provides full-text access to Yomiuri Shinbun, the largest newspaper in Japan, from the inaugural issue in 1874 to present. All full text articles of Yomiuri shinbun from 1874 to 1989 are available from an image database of shukusatsuban (reduced-size edition), and most of the articles are retrievable in full text except some articles with copyright issue from 1986 to present. The database also includes the English edition of the Daily Yomiuri (Sept. 1989- to the present), both searchable by article, keyword, subject category, and issue. Charts and photographs are not included. Also includes biographical information on 26,000 people.

Literature

The premier database for researching the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Please note: Subscription limited to six simultaneous users.

Searchable full-text of political science and international relations journals. This collection provides full-text coverage of many core titles included in Worldwide Political Science Abstracts.

Acts to preserve quantitative data on religions, to improve access to this data, to increase the use of the data, and to allow comparisons across data files. The ARDA collection includes data on churches and church membership, religious professionals, and religious groups (individuals, congregations and denominations).

Multi-disciplinary full-text database with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Indexes and abstracts more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.

Searchable full-text journal backfile collection. Individual titles are listed in the E-Journals A-Z.

Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.