Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Data Services at UK: Data Storage

Resources and information to help you get started with data management, data preservation, and data sharing

Navigate this Guide:

Information Technology Services (UKITS)

UKITS provides the following data storage options for students and faculty. For assistance, contact the UKITS help desk at 859-218-4357:

Microsoft OneDrive

UK's license with Microsoft currently provides up to 5TB space for users. See here for information on accessing OneDrive. Storage size may change, however, so contact the UKITS to confirm what is available.

Google G-Suite for Education

UK's license with Google provides for unlimited storage on Google Drive for users. Members of the university community can create a G-Suite for Education account based on their linkblue ID. In addition to Google Drive, this account enables users to access Google word processing, spreadsheet, communication tools, presentation tools, and an email account. See here for information on accessing Google Drive.

IBM's Hierarchical Storage Manager (HSM)

This service provides a less expensive alternative to AWS Glacier storage. Users can upload their date and store on tape. Note that retrieval may be delayed, however. See here for information about HSM and how to set up access.

Tivoli Storage Manager (TSM)

This service allows users to upload data to a central server through a client. There is a charge for this service. See here for information about TSM and how to set up access.

Center for Computational Sciences

UK's Center for Computational Sciences (CCS) supports, provides, and promotes research computing services across the campus and the Commonwealth. The CCS provides principal investigators (PI), students, and other users a range of storage options for their data:

  • Every PI gets 1TB for their home directory and 10TB in an Object Store
  • Every user gets 10GB of home directory space

    • Home Directory is the only information that is systematically backup on a regular basis

  • All users can utilize the storage as scratch space

For more information, go to https://www.ccs.uky.edu or call 859-257-8737.