Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Guide for Dr. Walker's Courses: Industry Research

Resources on industry, legal, entrepreneurial, and technology research as well as historical information related to African American entrepreneurship

Getting Started

The library has several databases that will help you find information on the industry of your assigned client. 

Who Cares About This Industry?

A great strategy for looking for industry or market information is to ask yourself, "Who cares?" - identify the people or groups that care the most about the industry.

  • Is there an industry or trade group that focuses on this topic? 
  • Do they have publications or publish reports? 
  • Do they hold conferences? 
  • Is there a government agency that would collect data in that area? 

For example, if you were looking for information on the bourbon industry in Kentucky, one of the best places to look would be the Kentucky Distillers Association. They publish an annual economic impact study that details the importance of bourbon to the Kentucky economy. They know more than anyone else! Want to know how many people work in mining? The United States Bureau of Labor Statistics will have current numbers. 

Industry Research Websites

These are reliable websites that are freely available online. This may be useful to you in the future as well, as upon graduation you would no longer have access to the databases listed above.

 

Industry Analysis

Business Guides by Industry, Small Business Administration
Links to free information sources by industry.

NAICS Codes
Used to identify and describe industries by many government web sites and subscription databases.

County Business Patterns
Provides the number of establishments and payroll size by industry for states, countries, urban areas, and zip codes.

U.S. Census Bureau Business & Industry
Provides links to all the Census industry surveys as well as the Economic Census.

 

Demographics & Consumer Markets

Census State and County QuickFacts
An easy way to get basic demographic data, with links to American FactFinder for deeper coverage.

Consumer Expenditure Survey, Bureau of Labor Statistics
Provides average annual expenditures by demographic for many product and service categories.

KnowThis

Explains the basic principles of marketing and advertising.

 

Financials

Biz Stats

Offers financial ratios and other statistics for over 250 industries.

Economic Census

Provides detailed statistics for industries. Updated every five years.

How to Get Full-Text

When searching for journal articles, you will notice the View Now button on many of your search results. Clicking on the View Now button will lead you to links for the full-text of the article or let you know that we do not have electronic full-text for that article.

If the full-text is not available, you can search InfoKat Discovery for a hardcopy of the article or request an interlibrary loan (ILL), if needed.

Frequently Asked Questions about View Now

Having trouble? Ask Us for help.

Browse E-Journals

Not sure where to get started? You might want to search the e-journals database to learn what journal titles we might own related to your area of interest. It's best to search the databases to the left when looking for individual articles, but browsing e-journal titles can be a good starting point to finding individual articles.