This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Biographical Information" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Biographical Information  

This guide will show you the best ways to find information about people, be they authors, scholars, historical figures or contemporary newsmakers.
Last Updated: Apr 10, 2014 URL: http://libguides.uky.edu/Biog Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Ask-a-Librarian

Not finding what you want? Call, email, chat with or visit a UK Reference Librarian who will be glad to help you.

Ask-a-Librarian

 Recommend a book you'd like to see added to the Libraries' collections.

New Resources!

 

The Main Index

Biography and Genealogy Master Index (BGMI)

This index tells you where to find information on over 13 million individuals, both living and deceased, in who's whos, encyclopedias, literary criticism, and indexes (but not in journal articles or books focusing on an individual, except through its indexing of Biography Index entries. For online access to many of the articles indexed in Biography Index and other publications, search for the person in Biography Reference Bank. To see how to find full-text from the index entries in BGMI, see the Special Usage Note at the bottom of the BGMI description.

See major full-text resources below.

 

Use this guide to help you find information about notable people

English Americans

By Hispania (self-made from:) [CC-BY-SA-3.0], via Wikimedia Commons

 

Full-Text Resources

Below are some of the major resources that provide a way to search for biographies and then see the full-text (and images, when available) of the information about the person you found in your search. The tabs above will tell you about other resources you can use to find biographical information.

Biography Reference Bank
Full-text of the entries from a wide variety of books and articles. More information

American National Biography
More information

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
Contains nearly 59,000 biographies (with over 11,000 portraits) of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the present. Excludes living people.


Who's Who (Marquis Biographies Online)
Access to 24 of the Marquis Who's Who Publications
. More information

Welcome to the Biographical Information Guide.

Profile Image
Rob Aken
Logo - AIM
Contact Info
(859) 218-1233
Send Email
 

Look for other Research Guides

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip