Find Biographical Information about African-Americans
By David Kernow at en.wikipedia [Public domain], from Wikimedia Commons
Indexes and Full-Text Online Resources
While other resources listed in this guide include African-American subjects, the resources below cover them specifically.
- African American and Africana Studies - BiographyGuide to African American resources available through UK Libraries.
- Black Congressmen During Reconstruction: A Documentary SourcebookProvides brief biographical sketches of African Americans who were elected to Congress during the Reconstruction. Also, includes excerpts from documents illuminating their activities in Congress.
- Black Literature Criticism: Classic and Emerging Authors since 1950Focuses on writers and works published since 1950. The majority of the authors surveyed are African American, but representative African and Caribbean authors are also included.
- Black Women in AmericaHistorical biographical coverage, with current additions in the 2nd ed., including Venus and Serena Williams, Condoleezza Rice, Carol Moseley Braun, Ruth Simmons, and Ann Fudge. Nearly 600 entries.
- Contemporary Black BiographyProvides profiles of important and influential persons of African American and/or black heritage. Covers persons of various nationalities in a wide variety of fields, including architecture, art, business, dance, education, fashion, film, industry, journalism, law, literature, medicine, music, politics and government, publishing, religion, science and technology, social issues, sports, television, and theatre.
- Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and HistoryA five-volume set and supplement covering all aspects of the African-American experience from 1619 to the present day. Using biographies, historical essays, and thematic pieces, many written by foremost scholars, it addresses a wide array of subjects in over 2,300 articles to define in one source the cultural roots, participation in American life, and current condition of the African-American community.
Encyclopedia of Race and Crime by
ISBN: 9781412971928Publication Date: 2009-04-01Covers issues in both historical and contemporary context, with information on race and ethnicity and their impact on crime and the administration of justice. Explores the similar historical experiences of varied racial and ethnic groups and illustrates how race and ethnicity has mattered and continues to matter in the administration of American criminal justice. Helen Taylor Greene and Shaun L. Gabbidon, eds.
Encyclopedia of Race and Racism by ISBN: 9780028661162Publication Date: 2007-11-01Examines the anthropological, sociological, historical, economic, and scientific theories of race and racism in the modem era. Delves into the historic origins of ideas of race and racism and explores their social and scientific consequences. Includes biographies of significant theorists, as well as political and social leaders and notorious racists. John Hartwell Moore, ed. Macmillan Reference USA. 3 vols.
- Ethnic NewsWatchLimit person's name by selecting "Document Type": 'Biography.' You may also limit by "Ethnic Group."
- Notable Kentucky African AmericansContains short biographies of notable African Americans with Kentucky roots or ties, organized by profession or subject. Also includes entries for events and locations. Includes links to related resources.
- Voices from the GapsSearchable database of women writers and artists of color in North America, including Asian, Black, Latina, and Native women. Each individual author page contains biographical and bibliographical information, images, and links to other websites on the author or artist. The entry pages can be searched with the following criteria: by name, by place of birth or residence, by significant dates, and by ethnic/racial identity.
- Who's Who Among African AmericansProvides biographical and career details on notable African American individuals, including leaders from sports, the arts, business, and religion. 22nd ed.