Quick Links
- Open Access Directory
- Ten Years on from the Budapest Open Access Initiative: Setting the Default to Open
- Berlin Declaration on Open Access to Knowledge in the Sciences and Humanities
- Open Access Scholarly Information Sourcebook (OASIS)
- Economic and Social Returns on Investment in Open Archiving Publicly Funded Research Outputs
Resources for Faculty and Students
- Publishing in Open Access Scholarly Journals: What Are the Options?
- Understanding Open Access in the Academic Environment: A Guide for Authors
- A Field Guide to Misunderstandings about Open Access
- National Institutes of Health Public Access Policy
- Right to Research CoalitionA student organization founded on the belief that no student should be denied access to scholarship because their institutions cannot afford journal subscription costs.
What Is Open Access?
![]() |
"Open-access (OA) literature is digital, online, free of charge, |
"By open access, we mean its immediate, free availability on the public Internet, permitting any users to read, download, copy, distribute, print, search or link to the full text of these articles, crawl them for indexing, pass them as data to software or use them for any other lawful purpose…"
- The Budapest Open Access Initiative
The open access movement promotes the practice that scholarly research is made available online without prohibitively high subscription costs and stringent copyright and licensing restrictions. It facilitates quicker and broader dissemination of knowledge by removing the price and permission barriers to research outcomes.
Open access is compatible with features of traditional publishing such as peer review, journal prestige, and researchers' career advancement. It also offers many advantages, including:
- Quicker publishing time
- Enhanced discoverability through search engines
- Increased readership
- Increased citations
- Availability of download statistics
The SPARC Daily
Open Access Tracking Project
Loading...
Open Access Journals
- Directory of Open Access JournalsA searchable and browsable database of open access journals.
- Online Guide to Open Access Journals PublishingA step-by-step, comprehensive guide to open access journal publishing.
- Open-access Journal Publishing Resource IndexAn index of categorized resources pertaining to publishing open access journals.
- OA Journal Business ModelsA list of business models and revenue sources for open access journal publishing.
Open Access Books
- Directory of Open Access BooksA searchable and browsable database of open access books.
- The ebook Transition: Collaborations and Innovations behind Open-access MonographsThe videos of a panel discussion about initiatives that support free online access to scholarly books.
- Open Access Book PublishingA video that provides an overview of OAPEN's (Open Access Publishing in European Networks) study and recommendations of open access monograph publishing.
- OA Book Business ModelsA list of business models and revenue sources for open access book publishing.


Loading...
