International Resources: Great Britain

The national library of the United Kingdom giving access to the world’s most comprehensive research collection and providing information services to academic, business, research and scientific communities.

A collection of over 170 million items includes artefacts from every age of written civilization, they keep the nation’s archive of printed and digital publications, adding around three million new items to our collection every year.

British parliamentary documents, including Command Papers. All areas of social, political, economic and foreign policy. Searchable full-text, with detailed subject indexing.

For more information, see the ProQuest U.K. Parliamentary Papers Research Guide.

Over two centuries on-line for full-text searching of the London publication, more than 7 million articles, from 1785-1985. Widely recognized as the source for authoritative reports on politics, law, business and society. Extensive coverage of parliamentary debates, royal doings, obituaries, official appointments. Does not include the Sunday Times, the Times Literary Supplement, the Times Educational Supplement, the Times Higher Education Supplement. Also available in the Gale NewsVault, a searchable collection of historical newspapers.

Contains nearly 59,000 biographies (with over 11,000 portraits) of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the present. Excludes living people.

Searchable digitized collection of all surviving editions of the Old Bailey Proceedings from 1674 to 1913 and of the Ordinary of Newgate's Accounts between 1676 and 1772. Access to over 197,000 trials and biographical details of approximately 2,500 men and women executed at Tyburn. Includes digital images of all 190,000 original pages of the Proceedings, 4,000 pages of Ordinary's Accounts, information on the historical and legal background to the Old Bailey court and its Proceedings, and descriptions of published and manuscript materials relating to the trials covered. Contemporary maps and images have also been provided.

UK Parliament Public General Acts as they were originally enacted.