Translation Tools and Services
The Internet provides access to a variety of language translation services. The services range from automated translation for a quick translation of a word or paragraph to links to professional translation services. Below are just a few of these services. You can find many more by going to a search engine and typing in "language translation online." There is a service for every need.
- Google Language ToolsProvides for translation of text and web pages as well as changing the Google Interface into a number of different languages. The site also lists local domains from around the world.
- Babel Fish from YahooAllows for the translation of blocks of text (up to 150 words) as well as web pages. The site also provides for searching the web with the translated text in one easy step.
- TranslatorBarDownloadable tool bar that puts translation of text, web pages, and documents at your fingertips. Currently provides translation in 53 different languages as well as spell checker and dictionaries. The site also includes encyclopedias and links to 1500 local and international radio stations.
- Free Translation.comCommercial website that provides free translation tools such as a website translator and browser tools. Also gives information about fee based products and services such as MS Word Translation and professional translation services.
- Accipio Language ServicesLexington full service translation company that provides translation services in multiple languages for a fee.
NOTE: this is not an endorsement of the company but is listed here for the purpose of providing information.
Library Catalogs and Gateways
The Internet provides researchers access to library catalogs from all over the world. These catalogs provide a wealth of unique materials. Some of the materials may be digitized and readily available while others may require that you use the print copy. University of Kentucky Libraries provides physical access to this material by offering an interlibrary loan service. While there is no guarantee they can secure the requested material, they are generally successful in fulfilling the requests.
- Digital Library for International Research (Center for Research Libraries)DLIR aims to provide bibliographic and full-text access to print collections and other media held at CAORC-sponsored overseas research centers and allied partners in Europe; the Near and Middle East; Inner, South, and Southeast Asia; North and West Africa; and the New World.
- Gateway to Library CatalogsU.S. Library of Congress Page for gateway access to LC's catalog and those at many other institutions both in the United States and from other countries. The Gateway includes the Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS). HLAS is a selective, annotated bibliography of scholarly works on Latin America. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities.
- Global Gateway: World Culture & Resources (U.S. Library of Congress)Includes bilingual, multimedia digital libraries built with international partners and a listing of searchable Library of Congress and other digital collections that focus on history and cultures around the world.
- Library Catalogues and East Asian Digital CollectionsCompiled by Harvard University, this site includes links to catalogs in China, Japan, Chinese collections in the United States and the U.K. Union Catalog of Chinese books.
- Libweb: Homepages from Libraries Around the WorldUpdated daily this list pulls together library homepages from over 8,000 libraries in 146 countries. The page is organized by geographic location and includes gateway sites from the United Kingdom and Australia.
- The European LibraryThis collection provides searchable access to over 24 million pages of full-text content provided by the National Libraries of Austria, Czech Republic, Estonia, France, Hungary, Iceland, Latvia, Lithuania, Norway, Poland, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain and Sweden. Users can search a range of full-text content including newspapers, journals, books and manuscripts. As OCR is an automatic process, the accuracy could vary from one document to another.
World Languages
