Skip to main content

CIS 111: Composition & Communication II: About Scholarly Sources

This guide includes library help information specially tailored for students in CIS 111. Fall 217.

Find Scholarly Articles Here

Academic Search Complete is a good general database to use for your research. Try it out!

Academic Search Complete
Limit Your Results

Looking for full text?

When you see the View Now button, click on it to see a menu page which will show you where you can find the full-text of the article.
See How to Use View Now below.

View Now

The Libraries subscribe to a huge number of databases and resources.  Sometimes, the full text for an article is not available in the database you are currently searching, but it is available in another resource. The new View Now service will lead you to other options for accessing the full text.  Look for this button in your search results:

When you click View Now, you will be presented with one of the following options:  An immediate link to access full text in another database, catalog information to find a paper copy in the library collection, or a link to complete a request for the article via Interlibrary Loan.

How to Read a Scholarly Article

Anatomy of a Scholarly Article

Scholarly articles in the sciences follow a particular format. You may not always see every part labeled, but the content will include the following:

ABSTRACT – a summary of the article

INTRODUCTION – a brief explanation of the research topic and why this particular research was performed.

MATERIALS and METHODS – How the research was performed

RESULTS – The results of the research. An explanation of what happened.

DISCUSSION or CONCLUSION – What do the results mean?  What is significant or important of them?  What was learned?

REFERENCES – The research of others that was consulted in the writing of this article.

For more help, see the interactive guide Anatomy of a Scholarly Article, created by NCSU, and the video at right, "How to Read A Scholarly Article" created by Western University.