What's an Annotated Bibliography?
This short video from Purdue OWL provides a nice introduction to annotated bibliographies.
How to Write an Annotated Bibliography
An annotated bibliography is a list of citations, (a bibliography) in which each citation is followed by a brief summary and evaluation. The following examples will help you understand how to create your annotated bibliography.
- Annotated Bibliographies
OWL - Purdue Online Writing Lab
- How to Prepare an Annotated Bibliography
Cornell University Library
- How to Write Annotations
Earlham College Library
APA Style
This short, self-paced free tutorial from APA takes you through the basics of APA Style 7th edition.
The books below may be helpful as well.
APA Style and Citations for Dummies by ISBN: 9781119716464Publication Date: 2021E-book. While world-renowned for the precision and clarity it lends to scholarly writing, keeping track of APA style's exacting standards can be demanding (at times even excruciating!) for initiates and seasoned writers alike. Created and governed by the American Psychological Association, it provides a universal style for formatting, citations, and footnotes in psychological research, behavioral and social science journals, and beyond. Getting up to speed is tough stuff, but once you've got it, your work will have that easy-to-follow scholarly authority that will get high marks from your professors and peers alike.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by Call Number: BF76.7 .P83 2020ISBN: 9781433832154Publication Date: 2019Print only. With millions of copies sold worldwide in multiple languages, it is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields. Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication.
