Searching by Subject Headings
In general, materials on Victorian literature topics may be found in InfoKat Discovery under the subject heading "English Literature – 19th Century." More specific subject headings will be listed under this major heading, for example:
- English literature -- 19th century -- Bibliography
- English literature -- 19th century -- History and criticism
- English literature -- 19th century -- Periodicals
In addition, other subject searches on types of literary works may be limited to the 19th century time period, for instance:
- English Drama -- 19th century
- English Poetry -- 19th century
- English Prose Literature -- 19th century
- Dickens, Charles, 1812-1870
- Eliot, George, 1819-1880
- Stoker, Bram, 1847-1912
- Wilde, Oscar, 1854-1900
Browsing for Books
Many books dealing with Victorian literature may be found in the following sections, located on the 5th floor, South Wing, of W.T. Young Library.
- PR 1-9680: English Literature
- PR 451-469: 19th Century
- PR 3991-5990: 19 Century (1770-1900)
Find Books and More Through InfoKat Discovery
InfoKat Discovery allows you to quickly search multiple library resources simultaneously.
InfoKat Discovery searches the majority of UK resources, including books, journal articles, dissertations, government documents, archives and special collections, images, maps, videos, music and open access content.
BUT, InfoKat Discovery does NOT include ALL of the journal articles available through our databases--some databases are not included in InfoKat Discovery.
If you are doing very specialized searching or wish to limit your search to a particular database, you can select the database of your choice using the UK Libraries' Databases search.
The UK Libraries arranges books by Library of Congress (LC) call number. LC call numbers begin with letters of the alphabet. For example, most books on language and literature are in the range of P call numbers.
If Young Library is the location, check the Young Library map to determine the floor and wing for each call number. The P call numbers (language and literature) are split between the 4th floor and 5th floor.
If a book is located in another campus library, be sure to note the library location and call number. Check our list of library locations and the hours for each library.
Citing Sources
MLA Handbook by ISBN: 1603293515Publication Date: 2021Relied on by generations of writers, the MLA Handbook is published by the Modern Language Association and is the only official, authorized book on MLA style. The new, ninth edition builds on the MLA's unique approach to documenting sources using a template of core elements.
- MLA Formatting and Style Guide (Purdue OWL Guide)
- Please note: There is a citation generator on this site that is not free or recommended. See the list of recommended citation generators on our guide to Style Guides and Manuals
- More Information about Style Guides
WorldCat.Org
Need to search beyond the University of Kentucky Libraries? Search WorldCat.org to access catalog listings of holdings from libraries in the United States and around the world. UK-affiliates can make Interlibrary Loan requests through this database when on-campus or connected via VPN.
Questions? Just ask us.