Source: University of Kentucky Digital Archives, Special Collections
This guide lists resources that contain indexing and/or full-text of newspapers. Several general resources are also available that contain newspaper indexing and some full-text.
- Access World News (NewsBank)
Full-text of over 600 U.S. newspapers, including the Lexington Herald-Leader (1983 - present) and other Kentucky newspapers
- LexisNexis Academic
Includes access to over 5,600 news, business, legal, medical and reference publications (most full-text, the rest abstracted), primarily newspapers, magazines and journals. Includes the New York Times.
- Lexington Herald-Leader
Searchable fulltext of all articles except records lists (e.g., births, police reports) and PAID obituaries. Also find records lists for the archives and the most current seven issues by using the search box at the bottom of the page at the Herald-Leader's archives page
- Newspaper Source
Provides selected full-text for 40 national (U.S.) and international newspapers, including USA Today, The Christian Science Monitor, The Washington Post, The Times (London), and The Toronto Star. contains selective full text for 489 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full-text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.
- New York Times
Searchable full-text of all articles except records lists (e.g., births, police reports) and PAID obituaries.
- New York Times Historical Edition
Searchable full-text of the NYT from ProQuest, with keyword searching and date limiting. Coverage is from 1851-2009.
- Wall Street Journal
Full-text (with abstracts) from ProQuest. Coverage is from 1984 to the present.
B-67 South Wing Basement
William T. Young Library
University of Kentucky Libraries
Phone: (859) 257-0500, ext. 2113
Fax: (859) 257-8509Send Email