19th Century Periodicals: British Periodicals

This resource offers facsimile page images and searchable full text for nearly 500 British periodicals published from the 17th century through to the early 21st.

British Periodicals Collection I consists of more than 160 journals that comprise the UMI microfilm collection Early British Periodicals, the equivalent of 5,238 printed volumes. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the fine arts and the social sciences.

British Periodicals Collection II consists of more than 300 journals from the UMI microfilm collections English Literary Periodicals and British Periodicals in the Creative Arts together with additional titles. Topics covered include literature, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.

Subject coverage

• The Periodical Press
• Victorian periodicals
• Popular culture
• Literary Journalism
• Essays and Belles-Lettres
• Illustrated Periodicals
• Literary Criticism
• Political Satire
• Politics / Political Science
• Fine Arts
• Serial Fiction / Serialized Fiction / Serial novels / Serialized novels
• Slavery and Anti-slavery movements
• Temperance
• Religion and Theology
• Methodism
• English Poetry
• Book reviews
• Science
• Economics
• Bibliography
• Sport
• English literature / English writing / English periodicals
• Scottish literature / Scottish writing / Scottish periodicals
• Irish literature / Irish writing / Irish periodicals
• Women's literature / Women's writing
• Theatre / Theater / Drama
• Seventeenth-century literature / Seventeenth-century writing / Seventeenth-century periodicals
• Eighteenth-century literature / Eighteenth-century writing / Eighteenth-century periodicals
• Nineteenth-century literature / Nineteenth-century writing / Nineteenth-century periodicals
• Twentieth-century literature / Twentieth-century writing / Twentieth-century periodicals
• Advertisements