This link downloads a Word document where you can click through on the book titles to get see their library (InfoKat) records!
Come by the library to find and check out your favorites, or log in to InfoKat and use the "Get It" button to place them on hold for you at the front desk of your favorite library location :)
Founded in 1945 by publisher John H. Johnson, Ebony was a publication designed to highlight the positive side of the African-American Experience -- emphasizing pride. Featuring lots of color photos, Ebony covered news, entertainment, culture, and more.
The primary source material in this collection focuses on race relations across social, political, cultural and religious arenas, with particular focus on Atlanta, Chicago, Brooklyn, and towns and cities in North Carolina.
A landmark electronic collection of approximately 100,000 pages of non-fiction writings by major American black leaders—teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other figures—covering 250 years of history. In addition to the most familiar works, Black Thought and Culture presents a great deal of previously inaccessible material, including letters, speeches, prefatory essays, political leaflets, interviews, periodicals, and trial transcripts. The ideas of over 1,000 authors present an evolving and complex view of what it is to be black in America.
The Photographs and Prints Division contains both documentary and fine art photographs, which document the history and culture of people of African descent worldwide as well as the work of photographers of African descent. The collection of over 300,000 images ranges from mid-eighteenth century graphics to contemporary documentary and art photography; all of the major photographic processes are represented.
We subscribe to the World Cinema Collection. Films on Demand is also host to several individual streaming files, including our Appalshop collection. We no longer have access to the wider Films on Demand Collection.
Streaming media service that provides films documentaries for viewing from a variety of devices. A limited number of the films are currently available to the UK community on the kanopy platform.
Indicate you are affiliated with University of Kentucky if asked. If you Sign Up for an account (upper right-hand corner), it will recognize your affiliation. If you attempt to view a film for which we have no subscription, you will be taken to a "recommend feature" that will let you let us know you are interested in our acquiring access to that film. Please include your role at the University and reason for suggesting the film.