NOTE
In the early census records, after 1870, there are geographic locations where African Americans were undercounted or completely left out of the census.
African Americans were individually named and enumerated as a population starting with the 1870 U.S. Census.
Prior to 1870, a few names will be found, but for the most part, enslaved Africans were not named in the U.S. Census records.
In the 1850 and 1860 Slave Schedules [U.S. Census], enslaved Africans were enumerated by gender, with an approximate age, all under the name of the slave owner.
Prior to 1850, enslaved Africans were enumerated by gender, within age groups, all under the name of the head of household/slave owner.
Read more about Black names and naming (link) in Kentucky at the Notable Kentucky African Americans Database (NKAA).
Starting From Now - whatever names you have, work with them. Use the U.S. Census records to track the names as far as you can go.
EXAMPLE:
- NAME: Sophia Bates Word (1837-1937), enslaved for the first 20 years of her life.
- ANCESTRY: Sophia Bates Word's grandmother was brought from Africa to the United States. She was purchased by William Reide's father.
- SLAVE OWNER: William Reide in Clay County, KY.
- SOURCE: Slave Narratives, Kentucky v.VII, pp.66-68. The Federal Writer's Project of the WPA. [Online at the Library of Congress]
- SOURCE: William Reid in Clay County, Kentucky enumerated with 5 slaves in the 1840 U.S. Census [Ancestry Summary]
- SOURCE: William Reid in Clay County, Kentucky enumerated with 6 slaves in the 1850 Slave Schedule
- SOURCE: Sophia Word, spouse, and children in Clay County, Kentucky, enumerated in the 1880 U.S. Census
Find U.S. Census Records & Slave Schedules
- Ancestry Library EditionGenealogy collection from ancestry.com that includes census data, vital records, directories, and photos.
- Ancestry.comPersonal subscription.
- FamilySearchA nonprofit organization and website offering genealogical records, education, and software. FREE BUT MUST REGISTER.
- Kentucky Federal Depository LibrariesThere are 19 federal depository libraries in the Commonwealth of Kentucky, including the University of Kentucky Libraries.
- National Archives: Census Records and Other ResourcesClick on a Census year to start your search. Tip: Begin with the most current census year and work backwards to find people in earlier generations.
- University of Kentucky LibrariesMicrofilm copies of the U.S. Census records and publications are available at the University of Kentucky Libraries.
Find Kentucky Death Records and Indexes
- Ancestry Library EditionGenealogy collection from ancestry.com that includes census data, vital records, directories, and photos.
- Ancestry.comPersonal subscription.
- Kentucky Deaths and Burials, 1843-1970 [FamilySearch]Name index to death and burial records from the state of Kentucky. This set contains 627,320 records. Due to privacy laws, recent records may not be displayed. The year range represents most of the records. A few records may be earlier or later.
- Kentucky Department for Libraries and ArchivesThe Kentucky Department for Libraries and Archives serves Kentucky's need to know. ** The collections includes Kentucky, U.S., Death Records, 1852-1965. Death record books prior to 1911, for specific cities, are also available at Ancestry.com and Ancestry Library Edition.
- Kentucky Office of Vital StatisticsThe Office of Vital Statistics (OVS) has on file death records from 1911 to present day for deaths that occurred in Kentucky. Stillbirth, Death, Marriage and Divorce: $6 US per certificate (non-refundable search fee).
- Online Kentucky Death Records & IndexesA Genealogy Records Guide
- University of Kentucky Special Collections Research CenterPaper copies of the Kentucky birth and death indexes, starting in 1911, are available in the SCRC Reading Room.
Kentucky Death Records and Indexes - use death records, and birth and death indexes to gain additional information about formerly enslaved Africans and their family members.
EXAMPLE:
- NAME: Sophia Bates Word (1837-1937)
- FATHER: Pomp(?) Bates
- MOTHER: Emily Reid (maiden name)
- HUSBAND: Abe Word (enumerated in the 1880 U.S. Census as Abraham Word)
- HOME: Manchester, Kentucky (Clay County)
- INFORMANT: Sainte Word (son enumerated in the 1880 U.S. Census)
- SOURCE: Sophia Bates Word, Kentucky Death Certificate in Ancestry.
