Communication Research
- Communication and Mass Media Complete (CMMC)Begin your research with CMMC, the best source for scholarly articles on communication research.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowLook for additional research in this all-purpose database that contains scholarly articles in many different subjects, including communication. Limit to academic (peer reviewed) sources.
- Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science Core Collection indexes primary journals and article citations in several databases spanning a wide range of disciplines.
- ScopusScopus is an abstracting and citation database of peer-reviewed literature that contains over 22,000 titles from more than 5,000 publishers around the world, covering the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts & humanities. Scopus is a citation index which helps in determining the impact of articles and journals by highlighting which titles are most cited within a field.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowFind open access scholarly articles using a friendly Google interface. UK users can set up "Library Links" in your Google settings to identify your affiliation with UK Libraries, giving you additional online fulltext articles based on your institutional affiliation. Ask Us if you need help.
- Social Science DatabaseExpand your research to include scholarly articles in the social sciences which includes communication, anthropology, sociology, social work, political science, policy studies, education, criminology, demography and economics.
How to Read a Citation
This clickable image provides pop-ups explaining important elements of a search result containing the View Now button within Academic Search Complete.
LibKey Nomad
LibKey Nomad also offers privacy safeguards, in that it:
- doesn’t require a personal account;
- doesn’t cache article requests or EZproxy credentials; and
- is only active when a user is on the website of a scholarly publisher or database (i.e., PubMed, CINAHL).
Install the Extension
- Download the extension from the Chrome Web Store.
- Type in and select the University of Kentucky as your institution.
- That's it - now explore sites, search databases, and access via journal websites.
EndNote Click
EndNote Click is a free browser plugin that finds the best available PDF of an academic article while you browse. Behind the scenes, EndNote Click will search open databases and UK Libraries' subscriptions to find the best available paper for you. LibKey Nomad and EndNote Click complement one another. We recommend installing both to your browser.
Create an Account
You will need to create an EndNote Click Account.
Then you will need to select the University of Kentucky as your institution.
Now you should be able to access PDFs directly from resources like Google Scholar, PubMed, CINAHL, PsycInfo, and many more resources!
On-campus access
EndNote Click automatically detects your library subscriptions when you are on campus based on your IP address. You don't need to do anything.
Off-campus access
UK Libraries supports off campus access through EZproxy. You will be asked when off campus to login using your LinkBlue ID. You will only need to login the first time you use EndNote Click off-campus and after updates to the extension.
How to Get Full-Text
When searching for journal articles, you will notice the View Now button on many of your search results. Clicking on the View Now button will lead you to the article itself, links to the full text of the article, or it will let you know that we do not have full text of the article.
If the full text is not available, you can search InfoKat Discovery for a print copy of the article. If we do not have a print copy, you can request an interlibrary loan (ILL). For articles, these usually arrive pretty quickly.
Have questions? Ask Us for help.