General Books
Encyclopedia of Modern China by 
This link opens in a new window
Call Number: eBookPublication Date: 2009Provides critical information on the most populous country and most dynamic trade market in the world: the people, politics, economics, religion, philosophy, traditions, art, and literature of this ancient and enduring civilization are explored from the beginning of the nineteenth century to the present day.- Country Profile of ChinaCompiled by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress, this publication is continuously updated.
History of China
Research Guides
- Chinese Studies Research Guide (Harvard University)A good starting point for research in East Asian studies. The books listed are in Harvard's library, so you need to check InfoKat for University of Kentucky availability.
- History (UK Libraries)General research guide to historical materials available in UK Libraries.
Where to Find the Resources
The majority of the print materials on Chinese History can be found in the William T. Young Library. Books on China can be found in the stacks in the call numbers DS701-DS799.99. The breakdown of the call numbers is:
DS730-731 Ethnology
DS 733-779.32 History
DS781-796 Local History and description
DS781-784.2 Manchuria
DS785-786 Tibet
DS796.H7 Hong Kong
DS798 Outer Mongolia. Mongolian People's Republic
DS798.92-799.9 Taiwan
Academic Liaison
Shawn Livingston
Contact:
Special Collection Research Center
216a Margaret I. King Library
University of Kentucky Libraries
40506-0039
216a Margaret I. King Library
University of Kentucky Libraries
40506-0039
859 218-1831
Databases
Library-Provided Databases
- Historical Abstracts
- This link opens in a new window
Covers events from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada). The database provides annotated bibliographic entries from 2,000 journals published worldwide. - PAIS Index
- This link opens in a new window
These two databases contain citations to journal articles, books and other monographs, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, notes and announcements, analytics, and Internet material. Publications come from over 120 countries. The content emphasizes public and social policy issues. Covers 1915 to the present.