HIS 208: History of the Atlantic World - Afro-Latin America

Complete runs of all British Government Confidential Print volumes relating to the nations of South and Central America.

Designed for teaching and research, this resource brings together documents and collections from libraries and archives across the Atlantic world, covering five centuries. The resource offers case studies in America, the Caribbean, Brazil and Cuba along with important material examining European, Islamic and African involvement in the slave trade.

Includes documents from the United States and Europe as well as other parts of the world. In addition to newspaper collections and books published in the antebellum era, this resource also includes documents from several archives originally available only on microfilm.

All known legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world, as well as materials on free African-Americans in the colonies and the U.S. before 1870. Included are every statute passed by every state and colony, all federal statutes, all reported state and federal cases on slavery, and hundreds of books and pamphlets on the subject. In total, the collection contains more than 1,000 titles and nearly 850,000 pages.

Collection of more than 280 fully searchable newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries from 20 countries featuring Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, and Venezuela.

Searchable full-text from ProQuest, with keyword searching and date limiting. This title is part of Proquest Historical Newspapers.