Librarian
UK Libraries
Lexington, KY 40506
Visit the SCRC
If materials you are interested in are not yet digitized, you will need to set up a researcher account and visit the SCRC in-person. Do not fear! This is a simple process. For information about setting up your account, requesting materials, scheduling a visit, and requesting digitized materials, please visit this handy guide: Conducting Research at the SCRC
HIS 499 - Gender, Sex, and Family in U.S. History
Welcome to your course guide for HIS 499 - Gender, Sex, and Family in U.S. History. This research guide is designed to provide you with archival collections, oral histories, and other related materials that may be of assistance when generating your research project ideas or to assist you in conducting effective research. The tabs at the top of the page link to a variety of resources related to the course topic.
I will also encourage you to set up an individual meeting or research consultation by using the "Email Me" button in the left column of any of these pages. This will be especially helpful in narrowing down your research topics and ideas, as well as to identify archival collections that will help you be successful in this course.
What are Archives?
This video gives a brief overview of the role of archives in everyday and academic life.
Online Resources
- ExploreUKSearch 530,000+ digitized collections, prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more from UK Special Collections Research Center and UK Libraries.
- Louie B. Nunn Center for Oral HistoryThe Louie B. Nunn Center for Oral History is internationally recognized for its work in collecting and preserving oral histories. With over 17,000 oral history interviews, Nunn Center collections span an incredible breadth of topics and provide an invaluable resource to researchers across Kentucky and around the world.
- Kentucky Digital Newspaper Program (KDNP)The Kentucky Digital Newspaper Program (KDNP) at the University of Kentucky Libraries provides preservation and access to historic and contemporary digitized newspapers from the Commonwealth of Kentucky. Through cooperative endeavors with the Kentucky Press Association and the Internet Archive, the University of Kentucky Libraries provides online access to nearly one million pages of Kentucky's first draft of history.