Sports Journalism Articles
These databases are a good place to look for articles related to sports journalism.
- Communication and Mass Media Complete (CMMC)Best source for scholarly articles on mass communication including sports communication and sports journalism. This is a good place to begin your research.
- SPORTDiscus with Full TextFind additional articles here. Contains academic articles in sports, sports science, and sports journalism.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowContains scholarly articles in many different subjects including sports.
*Tip: Limit to academic (peer reviewed) sources. - StatistaNeed statistics? Find statistics, reports, and infographics on a wide variety of topics and industries, including sports and sports journalism.
Sports Journalism Books
These are a few books in our collection on sports journalism.
The Best American Sports Writing 2019 by Call Number: PN4784.S6 B48 2019From the acclaimed series showcasing the best sports writing from the past year, culled from hundreds of national, regional, and specialty print and digital publications.
Disrupting Sports Journalism by Call Number: e-bookPublication Date: 2021This book critically explores the impact that digital technology has had on the practices and norms of sports journalism; In the wake of major digital disruptions in news reporting, the author analyses how sports journalism has been particularly vulnerable to challenges and attacks on its expertise because of its historically weak commitment to professionalism.
The Game Is Not a Game by Call Number: e-bookPublication Date: 2020A study of "the hypocrisy of the game, capitalism, activism, disrespect to female athletes, and who benefits from sports the most"
Sports Journalism by Call Number: PN4784.S6 S88 2019The 2nd edition includes new chapters on social media and topical issues in the sports world, as well as fresh examples and new references to current technology.
Sports Journalism by Call Number: e-bookPublication Date: 2020A comprehensive historical review of sports journalism focusing on how and why technology, religion, social movements, immigration, racism, sexism, social media, athletes, and sportswriters and broadcasters changed sports.
We Average Unbeautiful Watchers by Call Number: e-bookISBN: 0803295944Publication Date: 2019Sports fandom--often more than religious, political, or regional affiliation--determines how millions of Americans define themselves. In We Average Unbeautiful Watchers, Noah Cohan examines contemporary sports culture to show how mass-mediated athletics are in fact richly textured narrative entertainments rather than merely competitive displays.
New York Times
Interested in accessing the New York Times online? UK provides access to students, faculty, and staff. Sign up below with the first link, and use the second link to access it after registering.
- New York Times Digital Edition (New Users)You must register for an account through this link. Once you register, you have access to the New York Times website through the University of Kentucky.
- New York Times Digital Edition (Registered Users)Once you have registered for an account through the new user link, you have an basic digital access subscription to the New York Times through the University of Kentucky. This subscription includes unlimited access on NYTimes.com, archives (dating back to 1851) (5 PDF article downloads from Times Machine per user per day); augmented reality/virtual reality (found in the App), daily 360 content, podcasts, all multimedia, newsletters, Spanish and Mandarin Chinese versions of NYTimes.com, and unlimited access to The New York Times in Education website and The Learning Network.
Wall Street Journal
Interested in accessing the Wall Street Journal online? UK provides access to students, faculty, and staff. Sign up below and use the link for access.
- Wall Street Journal (Digital Edition)UK Libraries and the Student Government Association (SGA) have partnered with the Wall Street Journal to provide school-sponsored memberships to all students, faculty and staff. Through the partnership, members have full digital access to WSJ.com and through the app. Additionally, curated career content can be found at students.wsj.com. Activate your membership through this link.
Introduction to InfoKat Discovery
|
InfoKat Discovery can be a good place to start your research, as you can search for all types of information there (articles, books, and much more). If you click on Advanced Search search to the right of the search box, you can search InfoKat Discovery as the "Library Catalog." This will help you find library materials UK owns, such as books, videos, maps, music, and much more. The InfoKat Discovery Guide is helpful for learning how to use this powerful tool. This video provides a two minute overview for searching InfoKat Discovery. |
 |
Finding a Book on the Shelf
How to Find a Book on the Shelf provides a brief, basic overview of Library of Congress call numbers, provides practice putting them in order, and explains how to find a book in Young Library.
Types of Sources
Not sure of the differences between primary, secondary, and tertiary sources? This guide provides definitions of each with examples.
How to Get Full Text
When searching for journal articles, you will notice the View Now button on many of your search results. Clicking on the View Now button will lead you to the article itself, links to the full text of the article, or it will let you know that we do not have full text of the article.
If the full text is not available, you can search InfoKat Discovery for a print copy of the article. If we do not have a print copy, you can request an interlibrary loan (ILL). For articles, these usually arrive pretty quickly.
Have questions? Ask Us for help.
Google Scholar
It's a good idea to check Google Scholar along with other databases. Follow these instructions to connect Google Scholar results to UK's full text holdings.