E-Resources
- Authentic leadership: discussion of LGBTQ work as culturally relevant and engaged authentic leadership.Description: Provides new insights about the roles in which LGBTQ individuals contribute to society and various organizations. The literature is divided into two sections. Section I includes thee chapters from higher education administrators, faculty and community activists.Section II includes four chapters which share voices of people who are normally excluded from research.
- LGBTQ families: the ultimate teen guideDescription: The Ultimate Teen Guide focuses on the difficulties young people face as members of households in which one or more members are lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender/transsexual, or queer/questioning. This book offers encouragement, insights, and resources to help them cope with and embrace the uniqueness of their family life. Teens and adults from LGBTQ families-and teens who identify as LGBTQ themselves-tell their personal stories and share strategies they use to deal with a sometimes unaccepting society. Topics discussed include politics, religion, media, and bullying. Aimed at young adults with LGBTQ parents, teens who identify as LGBTQ, those who support LGBTQs, and anyone wanting to educate themselves on the topic.
- LGBTQ rightsDescription: This anthology brings together writings from diverse sources to construct a well-balanced examination of LGBT rights in the United States and around the world. Readers will be exposed to both sides of the same-sex marriage debate, the controversy over restroom access for transgender individuals, and the reasons why the LGBT community continues to fight for its rights.
Reference Books
- Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgendered History in AmericaDescription: A three-volume survey of more than 400 years of lesbian and gay history and culture in the United States, presented through over 500 alphabetically arranged entries. Coverage includes people, public policy, economics, social issues, identities, and culture, among many others. For students, researchers, and general readers.
- Encyclopedia of Sex and GenderDescription: Addresses issues of sex and gender at the personal and the social level; examines issues of identity, status, class, ethnicity, race, and nation; of sexuality and the body; of social institutions and the structures of representation. Topics include changing conceptions of “the feminine,” the family and masculinity, religion, morality, cultural images, medical practice, public health, economy and society and many more.
Historical Dictionary of the Gay Liberation Movement by Call Number: HQ76.5 .H86 1999ISBN: 9780810835870Publication Date: 1999-01-28Despite its relative youth, the gay liberation movement is one of the most vigorous and quickly growing of the contemporary social movements. The efforts of a handful of individuals put in motion a movement which now involves millions of people, and spans the globe. The agenda of the movement, like its membership, has grown tremendously, with new causes, organizations, and strategies for reaching goals constantly being adopted. The Historical Dictionary of the Gay Liberation Movement traces the evolution from the early homosexual rights movement through a century of history and into the contemporary gay and lesbian rights movement. It defines the key organizations and presents their leaders, the essential issues and the strategies those issues suggest, and the situation in numerous countries. Entries for numerous countries provide a global perspective. Most of the information is provided through extensive entries in the dictionary which are supplemented and put into context by the introduction and chronology. A comprehensive bibliography aids the researcher in further study. This volume focuses on the impact of gay and bisexual men (and their allies) on the gay liberation movement. A subsequent volume will trace the role of lesbians in the movement.
Reader's Guide to Lesbian and Gay Studies by Call Number: HQ75.15.R43 2000ISBN: 9781579581428Publication Date: 2000-03-01The Reader's Guide to Lesbian and Gay Studiessurveys the field in some 470 entries on individuals (Adrienne Rich); arts and cultural studies (Dance); ethics, religion, and philosophical issues (Monastic Traditions); historical figures, periods, and ideas (Germany between the World Wars); language, literature, and communication (British Drama); law and politics (Child Custody); medicine and biological sciences (Health and Illness); and psychology, social sciences, and education (Kinsey Report).
Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgendered Literature by Call Number: PS153.G38 B67 2008ISBN: 9781591581949Publication Date: 2008-06-30Here is a long-overdue genre guide to a previously ignored body of literature. The book aims to provide the reader and readers' advisor with an introduction to 20th-century gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgendered literature. All popular genres of literature are examined, including fiction, drama, and life stories (biography, autobiography, and memoirs), with the main emphasis on current fiction. More than 1,100 titles are organized according to genres, subgenres, and formats. Annotations provide brief, engaging plot summaries, information about awards, indication of which populations are addressed (e.g., gay, lesbian), and often suggestions for read-alikes. Subject terms or keywords accompany each entry to enhance access to more read-alikes. A brief history of the literature, comments on the genres, and tips for working with readers make this an essential guide and reference resource. Here is a long-overdue genre guide to a previously ignored body of literature. The book aims to provide the reader and readers' advisor with an introduction to 20th-century gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgendered literature. All popular genres of literature are examined, including fiction, drama, and life stories (biography, autobiography, and memoirs), with the main emphasis on current fiction. More than 1,100 titles are organized according to genres, subgenres, and formats. Annotations provide brief, engaging plot summaries, information about awards, indication of which populations are addressed (e.g., gay, lesbian, teen), and often suggestions for read-alikes. Subject terms or keywords accompany each entry to enhance access to more read-alikes. A brief history of the literature, comments on the genres, and tips for working with readers make this an essential guide and reference resource.
The Sage Encyclopedia of LGBTQ Studies by ISBN: 9781483371306Publication Date: 2016-06-02This far-reaching and contemporary new Encyclopedia examines and explores the lives and experiences of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Queer (LGBTQ) individuals, focusing on the contexts and forces that shape their lives. The work focuses on LGBTQ issues and identity primarily through the lenses of psychology, human development and sociology, emphasizing queer, feminist and ecological perspectives on the topic, and addresses questions such as: · What are the key theories used to understand variations in sexual orientation and gender identity? · How do Gay Straight Alliances (GSA) affect LGBTQ youth? · How do LGBTQ people experience the transition to parenthood? · How does sexual orientation intersect with other key social locations, such as race, to shape experience and identity? · What are the effects of marriage equality on sexual minority individuals and couples? Top researchers and clinicians contribute to the 400 signed entries, from fields such as: · Psychology · Human Development · Gender/Queer Studies · Sexuality Studies · Social Work · Sociology The SAGE Encyclopedia of LGBTQ Studies is an essential resource for researchers interested in an interdisciplinary perspective on LGBTQ lives and issues.
Databases
LGBT Life with Full Text
Description: Full text for hundreds of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers including The Advocate, Gay Parent Magazine, Girlfriends, GLQ: A Journal of Lesbian & Gay Studies, James White Review, ISNA News, Ladder, Lesbian Tide, New York Blade, ONE, Tangents, and many more.
Subject Coverage: Family Science, LGBT Studies, Women’s Studies
- GenderWatch
This link opens in a new window
Description: With archival material dating back to 1970, this database provides authoritative historical and current perspectives on the evolution of gender roles as they affect both men and women. GenderWatch supports gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender (GLBT)studies: family studies, gender studies, and women’s studies with a unique interdisciplinary approach. Combines hundreds of academic, gray, and popular literature titles and provides researchers with hundreds of thousands of articles on wide-ranging topics like sexuality, religion, societal roles, feminism, masculinity, eating disorders, daycare, and the workplace.
Subject Coverage: Women’s studies, Men’s studies, Evolution of the women’s movement, Transgender community, (Changes in)gender roles, Femininity, Gender differences, Gender equity, Gender identity, Gender studies, Masculinity.
Periodicals
Journal of Gay & Lesbian Social Services
Description: The Journal of Gay and Lesbian Social Services provides empirical knowledge and conceptual information related to sexual minorities and their social environment.
GLQ: A Journal of Lesbian and Gay Studies
Description: Providing a much-needed forum for interdisciplinary discussion, GLQ publishes scholarship, criticism, and commentary in areas as diverse as law, science studies, religion, political science, and literary studies. Its aim is to offer queer perspectives on all issues touching on sex and sexuality.
LGBT Health
Description: This peer-reviewed journal is dedicated to promoting optimal healthcare for millions of sexual and gender minority persons worldwide by focusing specifically on health while maintaining sufficient scope to encompass the full range of relevant biopsychosocial and health policy issues. This journal aims to promote greater awareness of the health concerns particular to each sexual minority population and to improve the availability and delivery of culturally appropriate healthcare services. LGBT Health also encourages further research and increased funding in this critical but currently underserved domain.
Journal of GLBT Family Studies
Description: The first journal to address the unique experiences of lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer individuals in the context of the family. The journal publishes original research, as well as theoretical and review papers on topics exploring the impact of sexual orientation and gender identity on all aspects of family experience – including family structure, relationships, communication, therapy, and functioning.
The Journal of Bisexuality
Description: The first professional quarterly to publish both professional articles and serious essays on bisexuality and its meaning for the individual, the community, and society. Covers new bisexual research, bisexual issues in therapy, differences from the heterosexual, lesbian and gay communities, the growth of the bisexual movement, bisexuality, and the media, bisexual history, and different bisexual lifestyles.