Organizations
The American Music Therapy Association's purpose is the progressive development of the therapeutic use of music in rehabilitation, special education, and community settings. Predecessors, unified in 1998, included the National Association for Music Therapy founded in 1950 and the American Association for Music Therapy founded in 1971. AMTA is committed to the advancement of education, training, professional standards, credentials, and research in support of the music therapy profession. AMTA's website includes information on:
- Conferences
- Jobs (members only)
- Music Therapy & Music Therapists
- Music Therapy Programs & Continuing Education
- Professional Requirements & Competencies
- Scholarships
- Standards
Dedicated to the study of music cognition, the Society for Music Perception and Cognition is an international organization dedication to the study of music cognition.
- News & events
- Video, podcast, & interview links
- Music cognition syllabi
Southeastern Region of the American Music Therapy Association
- Conference information
- Links to state organizations, AMTA, & CBMT
- List of degree programs in the region
Founded in 1985, the World Federation of Music Therapy is an international nonprofit organization bringing together music therapy associations and individuals interested in developing and promoting music therapy globally. It is the only worldwide professional organization representing music therapy in many areas of the world. See its website for:
- FAQ cards in 22 languages
- Job openings
- Music Therapy Today
- Open acces, ebook format
- v.1 (2000)--current
- Scholarships
Journals : Music Therapy
Australian Journal of Music Therapy
- Publication of the Australian Music Therapy Association
- Australian Music Therapy Association
- v.1 (1990)--current
- full text
- Music Periodicals Database (ProQuest)
- v.15 (2005)--v.27 (2016)
- full text
British Journal of Music Therapy
- Publication of the British Association for Music Therapy
- Index and abstracts only available from BAMT
- v.1 (1987)--current
Canadian Journal of Music Therapy/Revue canadienne de musicothérapie
- Publication of the Canadian Association of Music Therapists/Association canadienne des musicothérapeutes
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost)
- v.14, issue 1 (2009)--current
- full text
imagine magazine
- imagine magazine is an annual online magazine for early childhood music therapy
- Available on Apple Books
Journal of Music Therapy **Access to current full text in Fall 2022**
- Publication of the American Music Therapy Association
- Little Fine Arts Library
- ML1 .J69
- v.1(1964)-v.11, no.1(1974), v.11, no.3(1974)-v.45(2008)
- Music Periodicals Database (ProQuest)
- v.30, no.4 (1990)--current
- some full text
- Education Database (ProQuest)
- v.30, no.4 (1990)--current
- some full text
Music Therapy
- Publication of the American Association for Music Therapy (now the American Music Therapy Association)
- Oxford Academic University Press
- v.1, no.1 (1981)--v.14, no. 1(1996)
- full text
Music Therapy Perspectives
- Publication of the American Music Therapy Association
- Music Periodicals Database (ProQuest)
- v.13, no.2 (1995)--v.35, no.1 (2017)
- some full text
Music Therapy Today
- Publication of the World Federation of Music Therapy
- Open access, full text
- v.1 (2000)--current
New Zealand Journal of Music Therapy
- Publication of Music Therapy New Zealand/Te Roopu Puoro Whakaora O Aotearoa
- Music Therapy New Zealand/Te Roopu Puoro Whakaora O Aotearoa
- v.14 (2016)--current
- full text
- Music Periodicals Database (ProQuest)
- v.8 (2010)--v.14 (2016)
- full text
Nordic Journal of Music Therapy (formerly Nordisk Tidsskrift for Musikkterapi (1992 - 2000))
- Publication of the Grieg Academy Music Therapy Research Centre
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost)
- v.16, issue 1 (2007)--current
- 18 month delay for full text
Voices : A World Forum for Music Therapy
- open access, full text, & peer reviewed journal
Journals : Related Fields
The Arts in Psychotherapy (earlier title Art Psychotherapy)
- Little Fine Arts Library
- RC489 .A7 A76
- v.5 (1978)--v.32 (2005)
- ScienceDirect
- v.27 (2000)--current
- full text
Music and Medicine
- Online version on order
- Index can be found at Music and Medicine : An Interdisciplinary Journal
Psychology of Music
- SAGE Complete
- v.1 (1973)--current
- some full text
InterLibrary Loan (ILL/ILLiad)
No access to full text? Use InterLibrary Loan to get an article that UK does not own. Login to ILLiad.