It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
PA 623: Decision Analysis and Decision Support Systems: Research Resources
As the librarian assigned to the Martin School, I am available to help with your assignments and research. Please feel free to send me questions by email (firstname.lastname@example.org) or to schedule a consultation appointment, which we can do by Zoom. All campus library facilities are now open to the public, but please note that some locations require visitors to make an appointment. Please see UK Libraries' Safe and Smart Restart page for the most current information, including library hours.
Covers management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and more. Indexes articles from scholarly journals, trade publications, business magazines, and business newspapers with many available as full-text.
Indexes primary journals and article citations in several databases spanning a wide range of disciplines. This is a citation index, meaning it links articles through the articles' bibliographies, citation notes, and internal references. This makes it easy to move forward and backwards chronologically in the research trail because you can both easily see the papers cited by an article and the articles that go on to cite the article later. Citation indexes also help in determining the impact of articles and journals by highlighting which titles are most cited within a field.
Indexes coverage of issues in the public debate through highly selective coverage of a wide variety of sources, including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material and more. The database includes a historical perspective on many of the 20th century's social and public policies.
The Political Science Database includes 450 leading political science and international relations journals. This collection provides the full text of many core titles included in Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. Political Science Database also includes thousands of recent, full-text, political science dissertations from U.S. and Canadian universities and other sources such as country reports and policy papers.
Provides reporting and analysis on issues in the news. Each CQ Researcher report offers coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy. Reports include a background and chronology, an assessment of the current situation, tables and maps, pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions, and more. CQ Global Researcher articles are freely available to all CQ Researcher customers on this site.
Contains 3687 sources from 152 countries, including print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Full-text of over 600 U.S. newspapers, including the Lexington Herald-Leader (1983 - present) and other Kentucky newspapers
Searchable full-text of selected U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s, featuring top newspapers, newswires, blogs, trade journals, and news sites. Coverage includes the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, The Courier-Journal, and The Wall Street Journal, as well as local and regional newspapers.
Find Policy: Find policy reports from 17 leading think tanks in the areas of climate, economy, development, foreign policy, health care, and public policy. Use the tabs (at the top of the page) to search in any one of the subject areas.
Google NGO Search: Use this Google Custom Search Engine to search for current online documents, publications, and websites from nongovernmental organizations.
Access to social science data files, including coverage of such topics as population, economics, education, health, social and political behavior/attitudes, terrorism, history, crime, aging, and substance abuse. Direct downloading is available. Registration with a MyData account is required for most data file downloads. The data files require statistical software (e.g., SAS, SPSS, Stata) to manipulate the data.
Cross-National Time-Series Data Archive (1815-2016): This dataset contains more than 200 years of annual political, legislative and economic data from 1815 onward, covering over 200 countries and 196 variables used by academic, government, finance and media. Data is Excel format.
Data.gov: Home of the US government’s open data and includes Federal, state and local data, tools, and resources to conduct research, build apps, design data visualizations, and more.
Data World: Open data sets contributed by users and organizations.
American National Election Studies: Data on voting, public opinion, and political participation to serve the research needs of social scientists, teachers, students, policy makers and journalists
General Social Survey (NORC at the University of Chicago): Contains a standard 'core' of demographic, behavioral, and attitudinal questions, plus topics of special interest. Many of the core questions have remained unchanged since 1972 to facilitate time-trend studies as well as replication of earlier findings.
World Bank Open Data: The World Bank's Open Data initiative is intended to provide all users with access to World Bank data. The data catalog is a listing of available World Bank data sources.
UN Data: Users can search and download a variety of statistical resources compiled by the United Nations (UN) statistical system and other international agencies.
Quality of Government Institute: The main objective of the institute's research is to address the theoretical and empirical problem of how political institutions of high quality can be created and maintained, and the effects of quality of government on a number of policy areas, such as health, the environment, social policy, and poverty. The Standard Data includes over 2000 coded variables divided into sixteen thematic categories such as Quality of Government, Economy, Media, Environment, and Political System etc. Read the Codebook to determine if the variable you need is covered in the dataset.
Database of Political Institutions: Presents institutional and electoral results data such as measures of checks and balances, tenure and stability of the government, identification of party affiliation and ideology, and fragmentation of opposition and government parties in the legislature, among others. The current version of the database, hosted by the Inter-American Development Bank, expands its coverage to about 180 countries for 40 years, 1975-2017.