Research Guides: PPL 583: Tax Policy Analysis: Research Resources

Library Services and Resources

As the librarian assigned to the Martin School, I am available to help with your assignments and research. Please feel free to send me questions by email (jennifer.horne@uky.edu) or to schedule a consultation appointment, which we can do in person or by Zoom.

Policy Brief Checklist

Policy Brief Checklist
Use this checklist to review and critique your policy memo. (From Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Women's and Children Health Policy Center)

Newspaper and Journal Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary full-text database with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Indexes and abstracts more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.
Business Source Complete
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text for thousands of business journals and other sources, peer-reviewed business publications, trade journals/general business magazines, books (most indexed by chapter), industry reports and market research reports.
PAIS Index
- This link opens in a new window
Indexed coverage of issues in the public debate through highly selective coverage of a wide variety of sources, including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material and more. The database includes a historical perspective on many of the 20th century's social and public policies such as Prohibition, the civil rights movement, McCarthyism, Vietnam and Watergate.
EconLit
- This link opens in a new window
Indexed bibliography with selected abstracts of the world's economic literature, produced by the American Economic Association. Topics include including capital markets, country studies, econometrics, economic forecasting, environmental economics, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory, urban economics. Includes coverage of journals, articles in collective volumes (essays, proceedings, etc.), books, book reviews, dissertations, and working papers licensed from the Cambridge University Press Abstracts of Working Papers in Economics. Please Note: Limited to four simultaneous users.
National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) Working Papers Series
- This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and full-text (in .pdf) of working papers from this nonprofit economic research organization. Concentrates on four types of empirical research: developing new statistical measurements, estimating quantitative models of economic behavior, assessing the effects of public policies on the U.S. economy, and projecting the effects of alternative policy proposals. The working papers make results of NBER research available to other economists in preliminary form to encourage discussion and suggestions for revision before final publication.
Access World News
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text of over 600 U.S. newspapers. Access World News also covers over 1,300 foreign English-language news resources. Spanish-language editions of the newspapers are also included.
ProQuest US Newsstream
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable full-text of selected U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s, featuring top newspapers, newswires, blogs, trade journals, and news sites.
New York Times Digital Edition (New Users)
- This link opens in a new window
You must register for an account through this link. Once you register, you have access to the New York Times website through the University of Kentucky.
EXISTING registered subscribers with ACTIVE PAID subscriptions need to cancel their personal subscription by connecting with a chat agent on the site, or calling 800-698-4637 before creating an account. Once the subscription is canceled, they can visit accessnyt.com, type in the school name and follow the instructions based on their location. Since the subscriber “Already have an account " they click “Log In" (Found below "Create an Account"). Input their email address and the same “Password” created for their previous account. If the subscriber encounters an error message, that subscriber can email with edu@nytimes.com.
Wall Street Journal (Digital Edition)
- This link opens in a new window
UK Libraries and the Student Government Association (SGA) have partnered with the Wall Street Journal to provide school-sponsored memberships to all students, faculty and staff. Through the partnership, members have full digital access to WSJ.com and through the app. Additionally, curated career content can be found at students.wsj.com. Activate your membership through this link.

The Economist (1988-present)

Background Research and Statistics

Statista
- This link opens in a new window
Statista integrates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from over 22,000 sources onto a single platform, providing researchers direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets. It also provides data on market forecasts, white paper studies, dossiers, industry reports, digital market outlooks and consumer market outlooks.
CQ Researcher
- This link opens in a new window
Database that covers the most important and controversial issues of the day. Contains the full text of CQ Researcher, a weekly publication. Each issue provides a comprehensive overview and background essay, data tables and graphs, chronology, pro-con starter, and list of major research and advocacy groups.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
- This link opens in a new window
Presents informed, differing views on each side of an issue and to help students develop critical thinking skills and draw their own conclusions. Exclusive Viewpoint pages bring balance and perspective to every controversy using targeted arguments from recognized subject-matter experts and top journalistic sources.

Congressional Research Reports: The Congressional Research Service provides high-quality research and analysis to members of Congress and congressional committees.