Rare Books Librarian
How Do I Find Rare Books and Print Collections?
Use UK Libraries' online catalog, Infokat Discovery, to find rare books and print collections from the Special Collections Research Center. Rare books and print collections contain printed material from numerous geographic locations in a variety of formats, including: monographs (books); newspapers; serials (periodicals); pamphlets; and broadsides. Look for the "Submit Request to Special Collections Research Center" link beneath items any items from SCRC to schedule in-person use in the Breckinridge Research Room or to order digital scans.
Selected Health and Medicine Rare Books and Print Collections in SCRC
- Theatrum botanicum, 1640This massive herbal, or reference source for how to use plants as medicine, was compiled by the Royal Botanist to King Charles I and has over 3800 different entries with numerous illustrations, including some plants that had been previously unrecorded.
- The American Medical Guide for the Use of Families, 1810This is the first medical book published in Kentucky and also the first book to be published in Richmond.
- Daniel Drake Print CollectionThis print collection contains books written about and by the historically significant pioneer doctor Daniel Drake, who practiced in Cincinnati. Several works are authored by Emmet Horine, the doctor and book collector who donated this selection to the University of Kentucky.
Where Do I Find Newspapers?
That's a complicated question! There are a number of ways to find newspapers at UK Libraries depending on when and where they were published. To learn more about finding newspaper sources at UK Libraries, check out the guide below.