When you look for full performances to review, these streaming video collections contain many.
New resource! Stream full performances from Drama Online
UK Libraries has purchased five packages through Drama Online thanks to requests from the CFA Department of Theatre & Dance and the Lucille Caudill Little endowment funds at the Little Fine Arts Library. We are thrilled to offer these to the UK community.
Our five packages include the National Theatre Collection, two Royal Shakespeare Company packages, and two Shakespeare's Globe packages:
Drawing on 10 years of NT Live broadcasts and high-quality archive recordings, the National Theatre Collection contains 30 filmed performances including Greek classics, Shakespeare, literary adaptations, and modern classics performed at the National Theatre in London.
- National Theatre Collection
This link opens in a new window
From Shakespeare and Greek tragedy to contemporary literary adaptations, NTC features productions from the National Theatre, as well as the Young Vic, Donmar Warehouse, and Bridge Theatre. Drawing on 10 years of NT Live broadcasts, alongside high-quality recordings never previously seen outside of the NTs Archive, this collection currently contains 30 productions.
25 films of live productions from the Royal Shakespeare Company from 2013 to 2019, including the 2016-17 production of The Tempest starring Simon Russell Beale and the recent Twelfth Night starring Adrian Edmondson.
- RSC Live 1 (2013-2017) [Royal Shakespeare Company]
- This link opens in a new window
Seventeen films of live productions from the Royal Shakespeare Company from 2013 to the 2016-17 production of The Tempest starring Simon Russell Beale. - RSC Live 2 (2018-2019) [Royal Shakespeare Company]
- This link opens in a new window
Eight films of live productions from the Royal Shakespeare Company from 2018 and 2019, including Twelfth Night starring Adrian Edmondson.
30 films recorded live on the Globe stage with actors including Mark Rylance, Stephen Fry, and Roger Allam’s Olivier Award-winning Falstaff in Henry IV, and productions including the first production from the indoor Jacobean theatre, the Sam Wanamaker Playhouse, in 2014.
- Shakespeare's Globe on Screen 1 (2008-2015)
- This link opens in a new window
Twenty-one films recorded live on the Globe stage from leading actors including Mark Rylance, Stephen Fry, and Roger Allam’s Olivier Award-winning Falstaff in Henry IV. Founded by the pioneering American actor and director Sam Wanamaker, Shakespeare's Globe is dedicated to the exploration of Shakespeare's work and the theatre for which he wrote. - Shakespeare's Globe on Screen 2 (2016-2018)
- This link opens in a new window
Includes nine productions from the Globe Theatre, including two productions from Emma Rice’s tenure as Artistic Director and the first production from the indoor Jacobean theatre, the Sam Wanamaker Playhouse.
Academic Video Online (AVON)
- Academic Video Online
- This link opens in a new window
A streaming service for academic libraries from Alexander Street that provides access to thousands of documentaries, educational films and TV series, and other instructional clips for researchers to use in class and in their research.
Theatre in Video
- Theatre in Video
- This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 250 filmed original productions as streaming video, many captured and recorded while performed for a live theatre audience. Also includes more than 100 film documentaries. Includes the BBC Shakespeare Collection. The collection begins in the 1930s. Both Broadway and off-Broadway productions are represented in each decade.
non-Western theatre videos available freely online
In addition to lots and lots of ephemeral YouTube videos you can search for by keywords, here are some more curated, freely-available-online resources for non-western theatre:
- Blak Stage
Australian First Nations playwritghting - Theatre Museum Canada YouTube channelIncludes a growing section of indigenous artists' work.
- MIT's Global Shakespeares Video & Performance Archive
Provides online access to international performances of Shakespeare, in addition to contextual essays. Shakespeare of course could not be more "western", but there are long productions here from many non-western countries, especially in Asia. - Noh Theatre Research Institute
Hosei University Nogami Memorial Noh Theatre Research Institute (in Japanese) - Digital Archive of Performing Arts
In Korean. Includes videos, images, and sound files for Korean theatre, dance, music, exhibitions, and other resources for performing arts.
