Wade Hall Collection of American Letters: Related Materials

Through a National Endowment for the Humanities Collections and Reference Resources Grant awarded in 2018, the project "P.S. Write Again Soon": Revealing 200 years of the American Mosaic through the Wade Hall Collection of American Letters has focused on making available the materials in the collection through publishing of collection guides and digitization of select collections.

Along with the Wade Hall Collection of American Letters, SCRC also holds the papers and oral history of Wade Hall's research on civil rights leader Lyman T. Johnson, an oral history with Wade Hall, and his quilt collection:

• Wade Hall papers, 1876-1998

Comprises the research collected and writings by Wade Hall about civil rights leader Lyman T. Johnson. This research includes taped oral history interviews, event invitations, programs, books, manuscript drafts, newspaper clippings, and photographs about Johnson's early life in Tennessee and activism in Kentucky education systems.

• Wade Hall papers: Interview with Lyman T. Johnson

These interviews were conducted by Wade Hall with Lyman T. Johnson for his book "The Rest of the Dream: The Black Odyssey of Lyman Johnson." The interviews document Johnson's life and career as well as his role in desegregating the University of Kentucky in 1949.

• Interview with Wade Hall, 1991

Wade Hall discusses his family history and childhood, time in the army, interest in Southern literature and oral history, and his vast collections of all sorts of things.

Wade Hall donated materials from his vast collection to a number of universities, archival institutions, and museums during his lifetime, including:

Wade Hall Collection at the Kentucky Historical Society

Wade Hall postcards at Troy University

Wade Hall Collection at the University of Alabama

Wade Hall 20th Century Paperback Collection at Auburn University

The Columbus Museum

Birmingham Museum of Art

Mobile Museum of Art