SPECIAL COLLECTIONS RESEARCH CENTER
Find Collections
pertaining to
the
African American Experience
CONTACT:
Phone: (859) 257-1742
Fax: (859) 257-6311
Margaret I. King Library Building (directions)
Many collections are stored off-site. A phone call or an email prior to your visit will help us to better assist you.
CITING PRIMARY SOURCES
Citation form will depend on selected citation style. Include basic information.
- Repository: Where is the item held?
Example: Special Collections Library, University of Kentucky, Lexington, KY.
- Collection or Record Group:
Example: Carl and Anne Braden Papers, 1954-1964
Example: Anne Braden Oral History Project
- Series and/or Subseries:
Example:
Interviewee: Reid Johnson
Interviewer: Jeff Suchanek
Date: June 24, 1994
Collection title: Colonel Arthur L. Kelly American Veterans Oral History Project
Series: World War Two
Interview summary: Buffalo Soldier Veterans (92nd Infantry Division)
- Box and Folder Title/Number:
Example:
Box title: Special Collections Library, Vertical File, "Blacks in Appalachia"
Folder title: Blacks
Folder title: Appalachian Blacks
- The Document:
Example: January of the Sojourner Memorial Calendar 1982. Eastern Kentucky Social Club.
- Entire Citation:
Example:
Document: R. E. Hathway Post No.3593 (Colored), Lexington, KY.
One page announcement on letterhead of Hugh McKee Post No.677, Veterans of Foreign Wars of the United States, Lexington, Kentucky.
Date: December 29, 1938
Folder title: Negroes
Box title: Milward Collection (vertical file)
Box subtitle: Moss Family-Newspapers
Special Collections Library, University of Kentucky, Lexington, Kentucky
CITING IMAGES
Butler Photography. 2.5 X 3.5 Unknown subject, c.1890-1930. UK Special Collections Audio-Visual Archives. Lexington, KY. #2007av036_05_004
Include basic information:
- Artist name
- Title
- Date created
- Archive name
- Geographic location
- Dimensions
- Material or medium
- Image id number
- Online image - access date and web address