Archaeology Databases
- Anthropology Plus
This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic index to articles and essays on anthropology and archaeology, including art history, demography, economics, folklore, linguistics, psychology, and religious studies. Indexes articles two or more pages long in works published in English, Germanic, Slavic, Romance and selected Scandinavian languages from the 19th century to the present. - America: History and Life
- This link opens in a new window
The premier database for research on the history of the United States and Canada. Please note: Subscription limited to six simultaneous users - BIOSIS Previews and Biological Abstracts/RRM
- This link opens in a new window
BIOSIS Previews combines journal content from Biological Abstracts with supplemental, non-journal coverage from Biological Abstracts/RRM (Reports, Reviews, Meetings). - JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable full-text journal backfile collection. Individual titles are listed in the E-Journals A-Z. - Sociological Abstracts
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts, articles from scholarly journals covering sociology, anthropology, criminology, demography, education, law, social psychology, and urban studies - Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Web of Science Core Collection indexes primary journals and article citations in several databases spanning a wide range of disciplines.
Background Information Sources
- Oxford Reference
- This link opens in a new window
Access to all Oxfords Dictionaries, Companions, and Encyclopedias in one place, covering 25 different subject areas, with new titles and editions added throughout the year. Includes continuous updating and exclusive online-only content. Over 2 million entries in almost 450 titles. - Gale Virtual Reference Library
- This link opens in a new window
A database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Physical Map of South America
Map courtesy of CIA World Factbook.
eBook
Archaeology of Food
What are the origins of agriculture? In what ways have technological advances related to food affected human development? How have food and foodways been used to create identity, communicate meaning, and organize society? In this highly readable, illustrated volume, archaeologists and other scholars from across the globe explore these questions and more. The Archaeology of Food offers more than 250 entries spanning geographic and temporal contexts and features recent discoveries alongside the results of decades of research. The contributors provide overviews of current knowledge and theoretical perspectives, raise key questions, and delve into myriad scientific, archaeological, and material analyses to add depth to our understanding of food. The encyclopedia serves as a reference for scholars and students in archaeology, food studies, and related disciplines, as well as fascinating reading for culinary historians, food writers, and food and archaeology enthusiasts.
Publication Date: 2015
Social Sciences Librarian
eBook
eBook available at link above.
Print copy also available at UK Young Library, 4th floor, F 2229 .H35 2008