Cite, cite, cite!
These sources can help you add information to the Wikipedia entries you're working on.
Cite and link as many sources as you can!
Reference sources freely available online
- Contemporary Women Artists on the WebCollected by: National Museum of Women in the Arts. This is a collection of contemporary women artists on the web. There are three components to this collection: 1. Individual websites created by artists working in conceptual or new media art 2. Artist profiles of women artists represented by contemporary art galleries 3. Women artist organizations
- Timeline of Art HistoryThe Metropolitan Museum of Art's encyclopedia of expert information on the objects and artists represented in their collections. Less useful if the article you are citing does not involve art at the Met, but important to include this source if it does!
Reference books available online with UK LinkBlue ID
North American Women Artists of the Twentieth Century by Call Number: Fine Arts Library Reference N 6503 .N67 1995** online access ** also available through link above (UK LinkBlue required)
Oxford Dictionary of American Art and ArtistsCall Number: Fine Arts Library Reference N 6505 .M59 2007** online access ** also available through link above (UK LinkBlue required)
Citing Wikipedia articles with free pieces in the JSTOR digital library
- JSTOR guide to citing Wikipedia with JSTOR articlesJSTOR created this guide with easy instructions on how to use JSTOR as a source.
Tips for Using JSTOR as a Source
You can use JSTOR to help make the world a more factual place! Here are some quick tips:
FIND
- Use JSTOR’s Advanced Search to craft the best source search.
- Focus your search on the best secondary sources (“Journals”) with the most widely available access (“Read online”)
EVALUATE
- Sort your search results by date to find the most recent sources.
- In search results, look for the green FREE button that identifies open access articles.
- When viewing an article, look for the “References” tab to explore related sources.
LINK
- Use the “stable URL” from JSTOR citations to generate a quick & reliable link to the article from Wikipedia:
find newspaper articles and reviews
Need to identify reviews of your individual's work? Interviews with the artist? Notices of where your individual exhibited or performed? News coverage is an excellent source for that. The sources below provide access to current and past issues of newspapers, magazines, and blogs.
- New York TimesRead recent stories from the New York Times. Includes full text and, since May 2020, some selected images. Coverage: 1980-current
- New York Times Historical EditionSearchable full-text from ProQuest, with keyword searching and date limiting. This title is part of Proquest Historical Newspapers.
- Nexis UniNexis Uni provides full-text access to over 15,000 news, business, and legal sources. The outstanding news coverage includes deep archives and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language news services.
- Access World NewsFull-text of over 600 U.S. newspapers. Access World News also covers over 1,300 foreign English-language news resources. Spanish-language editions of the newspapers are also included.
