How to Get Full-Text
When searching for journal articles, you will notice the View Now button on many of your search results. Clicking on the View Now button will lead you to the article itself, links to the full text of the article, or it will let you know that we do not have full text of the article.
If the full text is not available, you can search InfoKat Discovery for a print copy of the article. If we do not have a print copy, you can request an interlibrary loan (ILL). For articles, these usually arrive pretty quickly.
Have questions? Ask Us for help.
Primary Electronic Book Review Resources
- Book Review Index Plus
This link opens in a new window
One of the most comprehensive of all book review sources. Contains citations to reviews from scholarly journals, popular magazines and newspapers. - Choice Reviews Online
- This link opens in a new window
Choice provides short reviews of academic books, electronic media, and Internet resources of interest to those in higher education. Each year Choice publishes more than 7,000 reviews covering more than 50 sub-disciplines spanning the humanities, science and technology, and the social and behavioral sciences. Also available in paper at: Z1035 .C5 – 1964 – 2011, Reference, 2nd floor. - NoveList
- This link opens in a new window
Fiction database that provides subject heading access, reviews, and annotations for picture books, children's "chapter" books, young adult titles and books for adult readers.
Reviews in General Resources
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A cross-disciplinary resource of mostly scholarly journals. Many full-text issues are available. Book reviews may be found by selecting "Book Review" under "Document Type" on the advanced search screen. - Access World News
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes many newspapers which contain book reviews. Choose "advanced search". Search by either the title of the book or author's name. Do not specify "in Author" because that would restrict the search to the article authors. Type the name or title into the search box. (Remember to enclose words in quotation marks.) Type the word review in the 2nd search box. Click "SEARCH." - JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
Contains many scholarly book reviews. Can limit your search to just book reviews. - Nexis Uni
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes many newspapers that contain book reviews. 1.Select All News from the Search by Content Type menu
2. Type in the name of the book, movie, etc. in the search box.
3. Select the type of review that you'd like to search.
4. Click Apply
5. Click Search - New York Times Historical Edition
- This link opens in a new window
Contains items reviewed in the Sunday "New York Times Book Review" as well as other reviews appearing in other sections. Search using the book title and name of the author. Includes a limiter for "review." - Periodicals Archive Online (PAO)
- This link opens in a new window
Contains many scholarly book reviews. Can limit your search to just book reviews. - Project Muse
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to journals in arts, humanities, and social sciences. Search for reviews by typing the name of the work into the text box and choosing the field “Title Reviewed.” - ProQuest News and Newspapers Combined Search
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes many newspapers which contain reviews. Search using the name of the book and the name of the author. Can select "review" as the document type. - ProQuest US Newsstream
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes many newspapers that contain reviews. Search using the name of the book and the name of the author. Can select "review" as document type, but this might exclude some useful results. - Readers' Guide Retrospective, 1890-1982
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes over five hundred magazines from 1890 until 1982. To search for reviews, type "book review" in the first search field, and then change the dropdown box beside it to read "Document Type." Use the other search fields to search for the title or author. This does not contain full-text documents.
Business and Economics Liaison
Peter Hesseldenz
Contact:
W.T. Young Library
University of Kentucky
Lexington, KY 40506-0456
(859) 218-1840
University of Kentucky
Lexington, KY 40506-0456
(859) 218-1840