Reference Resources
Baila! by Call Number: REFERENCE ML128 .D3 G73 2013
Encyclopedia of Latin American Popular Music by Call Number: REFERENCE ML101 .L38 E53 2013
Latin Music: Musicians, Genres, and Themes by Call Number: REFERENCE ML101 .L38 L37 2014 v.1-2
Books
Cuban Fire: The Saga of Salsa and Latin Jazz by Call Number: ML3486 .C8 L313 2002
Cultural Nationalism and Ethnic Music in Latin America by Call Number: ONLINE & ML3917 .L27 C85 2018
Decolonial Metal Music in Latin America by Call Number: ML3534.6 .L29 V37 2021
Experiencing Latin American Music by Call Number: ONLINE
The Garland Handbook of Latin American Music by Call Number: ML199 .G36 2008 & CD 10724
The Invention of Latin American Music: A Transnational HistoryCall Number: ONLINE
The Latin American Art Song: Sounds of the Imagined Nations by Call Number: ML1609 .C35 2019
Living from Music in Salvador: Professional Musicians and the Capital of Afro-Brazil by Call Number: ML3917 .B6 P3 2021
Music in the Hispanic Caribbean by Call Number: ML3565 .M66 2010 & CD 12527
Music of Latin America and the Caribbean by Call Number: ML199 .B75 2011
Opera in the Tropics: Music and Theater in Early Modern Brazil by Call Number: ML1717 .B83 B82 2019
Reimagine to Revitalise: New Approaches to Performance Practices across Cultures by Call Number: ML3798 .M36 2021
Composers, Performers & Repertory (Online)
- Institute for Composer DiversitySearch the ICD's databases for composers and links to their websites and works.
- Music by Latin American Composers (Theodore Front Musical Literature)Theodore Front is a commercial site offering thousands of scores, CDs, and books. Their topical lists are a great place to start learning new works.
Publishers & Labels
- Cayambis Music PressPublishes and distributes contemporary Latin American classical music--solo and ensemble--as well as works for chamber orchestra, symphony orchestra and concert band.
- Filarmonika Music PublishingThe mission of FILARMONIKA Music Publishing is to discover and promote the musical repertoire of Latin America and the Caribbean.
Archives & Collections
- Hispano Music & Culture of the Northern Rio Grande: The Juan B. Rael CollectionHispano Music and Culture of the Northern Rio Grande: The Juan B. Rael Collection is an online presentation of an ethnographic field collection (1940) documenting religious and secular music of Spanish-speaking residents of rural Northern New Mexico and Southern Colorado.
- Latin American Music Center (Indiana University)The Latin American Music Center (LAMC) fosters the academic study, performance and research of Latin American art, popular and traditional music.
- Strachwitz Frontera Collection of Mexican & Mexican American RecordingsOver 125,000 songs celebrating North America’s Spanish-language musical heritage.
Additional Online Resources
- Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC)No longer updated as of July 2015. Some dead links, but dozens of links to websites and resources arranged by region.
- Latino Music Collections Highlights (Library of Congress)Online sampler of the Latino and Latin American music resources in the Smithsonian's collections.
Audio & Visual Resources
Films on Demand
Smithsonian Global Sound
Afro-Hispanic Music from Western Colombia and Ecuador by Call Number: ONLINE
UK Libraries
Carmina latina: Music from Colonial Latin AmericaCall Number: CD 15249
Cuban Baroque Music of the 18th CenturyCall Number: CD 15763
UK Libraries Databases
- Smithsonian Global Sound
This link opens in a new window
Smithsonian Global Sound is a collection of the world's musical and aural traditions. Search by geographic location, cultural group, genre, instruments, etc.
Subject Headings & Call Numbers
►SUBJECT HEADINGS & THE ADVANCED SEARCH
These links will launch searches in the Advanced Search:
- Hispanic American musicians
- Hispanic Americans -- Music
- Music -- Latin America
- Popular music -- Latin America
For your own search:
- Go to Advanced Search
- Search for Library Catalog
- Search Filters Subject contains [type your terms here]
- Material Types All items [or specific format]
Scores and AV are best searched by composer, performer, genre, and limiting to the material type Scores, Audio, or Videos, for example:
- Go to Advanced Search
- Search for Library Catalog
- Search Filters Author/creator contains Leo Brouwer
- AND Subject contains guitar
- Materials Type Scores
►CALL NUMBERS -- BOOKS
- ML3481 Hispanic American music
►CALL NUMBERS -- SCORES
- M1668.4 Hispanic American music
Or try searching in an Advanced Author/Creator search set to "Contains" the composer's name and setting the Material Type to Scores.
Works in the Western art music tradition are not generally given separate call numbers that indicate ethnicity, gender, orientation, or place of birth. See the document below of an outline of the Library of Congress Classification System for scores: