Research Outline/Organizer

Research Outline
Make a copy to use this Google doc to save your work as you move through the research process.

Develop Your Topic

Define Your Topic
Brainstorm Synonyms

Clearly identify what information you are going to be looking for when you start searching.

SAMPLE TOPIC: What factors impact retention and graduation rates the most?

Identify keywords that may be used to describe your main ideas or concepts.

Find Journal Articles - Also called "Academic Articles," "Scholarly Articles," or "Peer-Reviewed Articles".

Why You Should Use Them

Current Information - Journal articles are typically published monthly and therefore contain current research on a subject.
Written by Scholars - Journal articles are written and reviewed by subject area scholars and provide new research, analysis, or information about a specific topic.
Peer-Reviewed - This means the article is approved by other subject area experts before it is published.
Focused - Academic articles tend to focus in-depth on a narrow subject or research question.

Adapted from: https://libguides.kennesaw.edu/education

More Databases to Explore -

Click on the information icon to see what kind of articles are included in each database.

Career and Technical Education Database
Indexing of periodical publications covering vocational/technical topics, including technology, healthcare, building trades, auto mechanics, sales and retail, accounting, graphic design, photography, and nursing. Searches can be limited to scholarly journals, including peer-reviewed.
ProQuest Databases
Access to a wide range of databases primarily in the sciences and social sciences.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text
International journal and monograph indexing covering sport, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, sports science, physical education, kinesiology, etc., and contains full text for many of the most used journals in the SPORTDiscus index.

A-Z Database List
Complete list of academic databases available from UK Libraries. Use your Link Blue account to access them.
Research Guides by Topic
Complete list of research guides available from UK Libraries.

Find Data and Statistics - Providing facts and figures from scholarly research lends support to your argument or position.

Why You Should Use Them

Credibility - Data provide meaningful and replicable information about a topic, condition, or population.
Visual - Sometimes a picture or a chart or a graph really is worth a thousand words.

Adapted from: https://libguides.kennesaw.edu/education

Where to Look

ED Data Express
Explore high-value state-level education data collected by the U.S. Department of Education.
Kentucky Assessment / School Report Card - KDE
The Kentucky School Report Card provides information about how students are performing and progressing in each school and district in Kentucky.
The Learning Policy Institute - The State of the Teacher Workforce
A state-by-state analysis of the factors influencing teacher shortages, supply, demand, and equity.
National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)
NCES is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education in the U.S.
National Council on Teacher Quality (NCTQ)
Find data related to U.S. teacher preparation, recruitment, and effectiveness.
PEW Research Center: Education
Find numbers, facts, and trends shaping the education landscape.
Sports Data Resources (ASA)
A listing of data resources and online sports statistics forums for a number of sports, available online.
Sports Reference
Sports Stats - fast, easy, and up-to-date.
WB Education Statistics (EdStats)
From World Bank - Features education stats and comparison data from countries all around the world.
What Works Clearinghouse
Find information and research about evidence-based practice in classrooms and schools across the U.S.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar

How to Format References [APA 7th ed.]

Remember that no one expects you to be an expert in everything. You are, therefore, expected to give credit where credit is due. Citing sources makes you look more knowledgeable and professional. When in doubt, cite it.