Databases
Databases are structured collections of data created to facilitate accessibility. Databases can help you find all kinds of resources including books, journal articles, dissertations, newspapers, government documents, photographs, sound recordings, etc. Below, you will find relevant databases for French & Francophone Studies by category.
French & Francophone Studies Databases
- ARTFL Project (American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language)Full-text resource of 2,000 works. Coverage ranges from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing.
- Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and Repertoire de la Litterature de l'Art (RILA)Indexes and abstracts (in English or French) articles (from over 4,800 journals), art-related books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and art exhibition and dealer's catalogs covering European and American visual arts from late antiquity to the present. Encompasses fine arts—painting, sculpture, drawing, prints, architecture—as well as decorative and applied arts-crafts, graphic arts, and folk and popular art. Special subject indexing covers persons, places, institutions, buildings, works of art, and topical subjects, with most subject terms in both English and French.
- Sources Chrétiennes OnlineFrom its inception in 1942, the “Sources Chrétiennes” series (based in Lyon and published by Éditions du Cerf in Paris) has provided critical editions of texts from the first 1400 years of the Church, accompanied by a French translation as well as an introduction and notes. More precisely, the series consists of editions-with-translations of Christian texts in Greek and Latin, but also in oriental languages, such as Syriac, Aramaic and Georgian.
Multidisciplinary Databases
- MLA International BibliographyOffers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to 1963 and contains over 1.7 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers.
- JSTORSearchable full-text journal backfile collection. Individual titles are listed in the E-Journals A-Z.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowMulti-disciplinary full-text database with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Indexes and abstracts more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.
- Project MuseCovers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.
- Wiley Online LibraryMultidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social sciences, and the humanities. Provides access to over 4 million articles from 1,500 journals, over 15,000 online books, and hundreds of reference works, laboratory protocols and databases. UK Libraries subscribes to selected resources from this large collection.
- Literature OnlineA fully searchable Library of literary works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, plus biographies, bibliographies, key criticism and reference resources.
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations.
- Art Index
Art Index is an art research database providing high-quality indexing for hundreds of national and international art periodicals, including 370 active indexed journals. In addition to indexed journals, Art Index includes information about more than 14,000 art dissertations and more than 229,000 image reproductions.
(Please note our subscription allows 8 simultaneous users across any location. To help other researchers, please close the browser when you are finished using this database.) - Arts and Humanities Citation IndexThe Arts & Humanities Citation Index in Web of Science indexes 87 major American and European art periodicals such as Apollo, ARTnews, Art Bulletin, museum journals, etc.
- Periodicals Archive Online (PAO)Over 700 journal backfiles. Full-text from the first volume to 2000. Completely full-text. Includes journals in foreign languages.
- America: History and LifeThe premier database for research on the history of the United States and Canada. Please note: Subscription limited to six simultaneous users
- GenderWatchRepository of historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgender community and the changes in gender roles over the years. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports. Archival material dates back to 1970 in some cases.
Dissertations
- Dissertations and Theses Global (ProQuest)
As the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress, ProQuest Dissertations and Theses includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day with over a million full-text dissertations. The database offers full text for most dissertations added since 1997 and retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works.
- American Doctoral Dissertations, 1933 - 1955American Doctoral Dissertations 1933-1955 represents the only comprehensive record of dissertations accepted by U.S. universities during that period of time, listing nearly 100,000 dissertations.
- Open DissertationsCreated from a collaboration between EBSCO and BiblioLabs, EBSCO Open Dissertations is a free electronic theses and dissertations database (ETD) offering access to more than 800,000 ETDs, including those previously available in American Doctoral Dissertations. It may be searched by author, title, subject and university.
- Open Access Theses & Dissertations (OATD)Database of open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 1,100 colleges, universities, and research institutions. OATD currently indexes over 5 million theses and dissertations (as of 10/1/19).
- DART-Europe E-theses Portal (DEEP)Access to 417,149 full-text research theses from 541 universities sourced from 27 European countries (as of 09/2013). Provides researchers with a single European Portal for Electronic Theses and Dissertations (ETDs). DART-Europe is a partnership of research libraries and library consortia working together to improve global access to European research theses.
