Classical Studies

📚 Primary Texts & Translations

• Perseus Digital Library (Tufts University) – massive, searchable collection of Greek, Latin, and English texts with morphology tools.
  🔗 https://www.perseus.tufts.edu

• The Latin Library – simple, clean repository of Latin texts (no critical apparatus).
  🔗 https://www.thelatinlibrary.com

• LacusCurtius (Bill Thayer) – digitized Latin texts with English translations, including Roman historians and antiquarian sources.
  🔗 https://penelope.uchicago.edu/Thayer/E/Roman/home.html

• Loeb Classical Library (Harvard) – subscription-based but definitive bilingual editions.
  🔗 https://www.loebclassics.com

• Bibliotheca Augustana – large multilingual archive of classical and medieval texts.
  🔗 https://www.hs-augsburg.de/~harsch/augustana.html

• Digital Latin Library (University of Oklahoma) – scholarly editing platform for Latin texts.
  🔗 https://digitallatin.org

• Open Greek and Latin Project (Leipzig Open Philology) – open-access corpus of Greek & Latin texts.
  🔗 https://www.opengreekandlatin.org

• CAMENA - Latin Texts of Early Modern Europe -- Digital library of the humanistic Respublica Litterarum offering five collections as well as a growing database (EVRECA) that contains words and names (with additional morphological and lexical data) linked to general and special dictionaries or encyclopedias of our digital library.

  🔗 https://mateo.uni-mannheim.de/camenahtdocs/camena_e.html

🔍 Lexica, Grammars, & Linguistic Tools

• Logeion (University of Chicago) – unified dictionary interface for Greek and Latin (includes LSJ, Lewis & Short, and others).
  🔗 https://logeion.uchicago.edu

• Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG) – comprehensive digital corpus of ancient Greek (subscription required).
  🔗 https://stephanus.tlg.uci.edu

• Thesaurus Linguae Latinae (TLL) Online) – monumental Latin lexicon from antiquity through 600 CE (subscription via De Gruyter).
  🔗 https://www.degruyter.com/databasecontent?dbid=tll

• Whitaker’s Words (Latin morphology) – morphological parser and dictionary.
  🔗 https://archives.nd.edu/words.html

• Dickinson College Commentaries – annotated Latin and Greek texts with vocabulary and notes.
  🔗 https://dcc.dickinson.edu

🧠 Research Databases & Bibliographies

• L’Année Philologique (Brepols) – the premier bibliographic database for Classical studies (subscription).
  🔗 https://annuee-philologique.brepols.net

• TOCS-IN (Tables of Contents of Journals of Interest to Classicists) – searchable database of journal contents.
  🔗 https://tocs-in.ca

• PHI Latin Texts (Packard Humanities Institute) – searchable Latin corpus (requires local download).
  🔗 https://latin.packhum.org

• Digital Athenaeus / Digital Marmor Parium / Papyri.info – specialized databases for ancient texts, inscriptions, and papyri.

  • Athenaeus Project: https://digitalathenaeus.org

  • Papyri.info: https://papyri.info

  • Digital Marmor Parium: https://marmorparium.com

🏛️ Epigraphy, Papyrology, & Archaeology

• Epigraphic Database Heidelberg (EDH) – searchable corpus of Latin inscriptions.
  🔗 https://edh.ub.uni-heidelberg.de

• EAGLE (Europeana Network of Ancient Greek and Latin Epigraphy) – portal for inscriptions.
  🔗 https://www.eagle-network.eu

• Trismegistos – database linking people, places, and texts from the ancient world.
  🔗 https://www.trismegistos.org

• Perseus under PhiloLogic (University of Chicago) – advanced searching of Perseus texts.
  🔗 https://perseus.uchicago.edu

🏺 Reference & Teaching Tools

• The Stoa Consortium for Electronic Publication in the Humanities – open-access classical resources and editions.
  🔗 https://www.stoa.org

• Society for Classical Studies (SCS) – professional organization for classicists; includes teaching and career resources.
  🔗 https://classicalstudies.org

• Ancient World Online (AWOL) – blog/database indexing open-access scholarship in classics, archaeology, history, and philology.
  🔗 https://ancientworldonline.blogspot.com

• Classics Resources (CSCP, Cambridge) – educational tools and teaching support for Greek and Latin.
  🔗 https://www.cambridgescp.com

🧾 Manuscripts & Visual Collections

• Vatican Digital Library (DigVatLib) – scanned manuscripts, including many classical texts.
  🔗 https://digi.vatlib.it

• British Library Digitised Manuscripts – major classical manuscripts online.
  🔗 https://www.bl.uk/manuscripts

• Bibliothèque nationale de France (Gallica) – high-quality scans of early printed classical texts and manuscripts.
  🔗 https://gallica.bnf.fr

• Digital Bodleian – Oxford’s manuscript and rare book digitization.
  🔗 https://digital.bodleian.ox.ac.uk