Researching Policy and Law
This page includes the most common resources for finding public policies related to criminal justice and society. See the Public Policy & Administration research guide for more resources, or contact Margie Ruppel, Social Sciences Librarian, for more in-depth assistance.
Core Resources for Policy Analysis
- PAIS IndexIndexed coverage of issues in the public debate through highly selective coverage of a wide variety of sources, including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material and more. The database includes a historical perspective on many of the 20th century's social and public policies such as Prohibition, the civil rights movement, McCarthyism, Vietnam and Watergate.
- Nexis UniNexis Uni provides full-text access to over 15,000 news, business, and legal sources. The outstanding news coverage includes deep archives and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language news services.
- CRS Reports (Congressional Research Service)Research reports produced by the United States Congress. Covers major policy issues from a variety of perspectives. Analysis of current policies and presents the impact of proposed policies.
- HeinOnlineHeinOnline is a premier online research platform that provides more than 192 million pages of multidisciplinary periodicals, essential government documents, international resources, case law, and much more. Composed of fully searchable image-based PDFs and available at an affordable price, the wealth of material allows academic institutions, government agencies, law firms, court systems, corporations, and other organizations access to authoritative, true-to-print digital material without the hassle or cost of using multiple research databases.
Every document across HeinOnline’s 100+ databases is an exact facsimile of its print counterpart, providing access to original, authoritative sources as well as the ease and speed that accompanies online searching. - Legislative InsightFederal legislative history service that makes available compilations of digital full-text publications created by Congress during the process leading up to the enactment of U.S. Public Laws. The histories are comprised of fully searchable PDFs of full-text publications generated in the course of congressional lawmaking, including the public law itself, all versions of related bills, law-specific Congressional Record excerpts, committee hearings, reports, and prints.
- Think Tank SearchA Google Custom Search of 1,200+ think tanks and research centers from advocacy groups, governments, universities, and non-governmental organizations. Partisan and non-partisan think tanks are included.
Policy-related Reports & Publications
- IssueLabResearch reports, whitepapers, evaluations, case studies, issue briefs, etc. created by social sector organizations.
- CRS Reports (Congressional Research Service)Research reports produced by the United States Congress. Covers major policy issues from a variety of perspectives. Analysis of current policies and presents the impact of proposed policies.
InfoKat Discovery Main Search Box
Finding Laws, Bills, and Cases Impacting Policy: Federal and State
- CRS Reports (Congressional Research Service)Research reports produced by the United States Congress. Covers major policy issues from a variety of perspectives. Analysis of current policies and presents the impact of proposed policies.
- CRS Reports Collection | University of North Texas LibrariesSearchable collection of CRS Reports.
- EveryCRSReport.comEvery CRS report available at crs.gov, plus 5,100 archived CRS reports from the University of North Texas Libraries Government Documents Department CRS reports collection.
- HeinOnlineHeinOnline is a premier online research platform that provides more than 192 million pages of multidisciplinary periodicals, essential government documents, international resources, case law, and much more. Composed of fully searchable image-based PDFs and available at an affordable price, the wealth of material allows academic institutions, government agencies, law firms, court systems, corporations, and other organizations access to authoritative, true-to-print digital material without the hassle or cost of using multiple research databases.
Every document across HeinOnline’s 100+ databases is an exact facsimile of its print counterpart, providing access to original, authoritative sources as well as the ease and speed that accompanies online searching. - Nexis UniNexis Uni provides full-text access to over 15,000 news, business, and legal sources. The outstanding news coverage includes deep archives and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language news services.
- GovInfoOfficial publications from all three branches of the federal government, such as the federal budget, U.S. Code, U.S. court opinions, presidential papers, public and private laws, Code of Federal Regulations, bills, hearings, Congressional Record, committee prints, and other documents. Provided by the Government Publications Office.
- United States CodeGeneral and permanent laws of the United States. Organized/codified by subject.
- Legislative InsightFederal legislative history service that makes available compilations of digital full-text publications created by Congress during the process leading up to the enactment of U.S. Public Laws. The histories are comprised of fully searchable PDFs of full-text publications generated in the course of congressional lawmaking, including the public law itself, all versions of related bills, law-specific Congressional Record excerpts, committee hearings, reports, and prints.
- Kentucky Bill WatchTrack proposed legislation during the Kentucky Legislative Session. Search by keyword, sponsor, or bill number.
- Kentucky State Cabinet for Health and Family ServicesInformation about CHFS programs such as medicaid, child care assistance, adoption and foster care, Insurance assistance, SNAP, public health, county fact sheets, and more.
- NCSL Bill Tracking DatabaseSearch and browse proposed legislation in all 50 states. Updated weekly. Search by subtopics, year, status, or keyword.
- State Statutes Search | Child Welfare Information GatewaySee statutes in each state relevant to child abuse and neglect, child welfare, and adoption. From the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services.
- Nexis UniNexis Uni provides full-text access to over 15,000 news, business, and legal sources. The outstanding news coverage includes deep archives and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language news services.
Research Organizations, Think Tanks, and Advocacy Groups (select)
Nonprofit organizations and think tanks monitor policy in particular areas, and produce policy reports and research. TIP: View each organization's list of publications, which will lead you to research, policy papers, statistics, etc. It is also wise to read each organization's "About" section, as they may have specific goals or biases.
- American Policy DirectoryList of think tanks and advocacy groups by topic. Analysis and advocacy from all perspectives on U.S. national public policy.
- Brookings InstitutionEvidence-based research on common policy issues such as housing, children, crime, human rights, race, education, and health care.
- Center for Law and Social PolicyNonpartisan, nonprofit organization focused on policy solutions for people with low incomes (health, mental health, income).
- Urban InstituteNonprofit research organization that produces research and data on housing, race, health, justice, and education.
- Institute for Policy Research (IPR)Hosted by Northwestern University, IPR is an interdisciplinary public policy research center. Research areas include children and families, communities, urban policy, poverty, and inequality.
- MDRCOrganization that produces research on P-12 education, higher education, at-risk young people, families, children, work and income, welfare reform, housing, criminal and juvenile justice, health, and justice.
Children & Youth:
- Annie E. Casey FoundationPrivate philanthropy focused on children and teenagers' educational, economic, social, and health outcomes. Produces the Kids Count Data Book.
- National Center for Children in PovertyNonpartisan organization that researches child poverty, adolescent health and youth development, healthy development, low-wage work, and children's mental health. Easily compare states on immigration, mental health policies, basic needs budgeting, and employment benefits.
- State Statutes Search | Child Welfare Information GatewaySee statutes in each state relevant to child abuse and neglect, child welfare, and adoption. From the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services.
Immigration:
- Immigration & Migration | Pew Research CenterNonpartisan fact tank providing statistics and research about issues, attitudes, and trends. Does not take policy positions.
- Center for Immigration Studies"Independent, nonpartisan, nonprofit research organization" and think tank devoted to multiple aspects of immigration in the U.S.
PPT Slides
- Policy Analysis Information SourcesExplanation of core resources for finding policy analysis and legislation information.
Background Information about Social Issues
Find background information about social trends, policy, laws, cases, and issues.
- CQ ResearcherDatabase that covers the most important and controversial issues of the day. Contains the full text of CQ Researcher, a weekly publication. Each issue provides a comprehensive overview and background essay, data tables and graphs, chronology, pro-con starter, and list of major research and advocacy groups.