Provides profiles of important and influential persons of African American and/or black heritage. Covers persons of various nationalities in a wide variety of fields, including architecture, art, business, dance, education, fashion, film, industry, journalism, law, literature, medicine, music, politics and government, publishing, religion, science and technology, social issues, sports, television, and theatre.
A five-volume set and supplement covering all aspects of the African-American experience from 1619 to the present day. Using biographies, historical essays, and thematic pieces, many written by foremost scholars, it addresses a wide array of subjects in over 2,300 articles to define in one source the cultural roots, participation in American life, and current condition of the African-American community.
Covers issues in both historical and contemporary context, with information on race and ethnicity and their impact on crime and the administration of justice. Explores the similar historical experiences of varied racial and ethnic groups and illustrates how race and ethnicity has mattered and continues to matter in the administration of American criminal justice. Helen Taylor Greene and Shaun L. Gabbidon, eds.
Examines the anthropological, sociological, historical, economic, and scientific theories of race and racism in the modem era. Delves into the historic origins of ideas of race and racism and explores their social and scientific consequences. Includes biographies of significant theorists, as well as political and social leaders and notorious racists. John Hartwell Moore, ed. Macmillan Reference USA. 3 vols.
Contains short biographies of notable African Americans with Kentucky roots or ties, organized by profession or subject. Also includes entries for events and locations. Includes links to related resources.
Searchable database of women writers and artists of color in North America, including Asian, Black, Latina, and Native women. Each individual author page contains biographical and bibliographical information, images, and links to other websites on the author or artist. The entry pages can be searched with the following criteria: by name, by place of birth or residence, by significant dates, and by ethnic/racial identity.