Find Books
- InfoKat Discovery This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides keyword, title, author, and subject searching of the system's 12 libraries' holdings, including books, journals, journal articles, and other resources. To find children's books, limit search to the Education Library. If we don't have the book you are looking for, or if it is checked out. While some electronic journals are listed in the catalog, it is best to search for electronic journals in E-Journals A-Z. Search for databases on the Find Databases page.
- FIND BOOKS BY SUBJECT:
- A B C / Alphabet BooksFind A B C books in the Education Library.
- Wordless Picture BooksFind wordless picture books in the Education Library.
- Doing History: Investigating with Children in Elementary and Middle Schools [electronic resource] byLinks to online versions of "Doing history: investigating with children in elementary and middle schools" 2005 by Dr. Linda S. Levstik and Keith C. Barton. (Latest online version: 3rd) Fifth edition (2015) available on the shelf in the Education Library.
Use may be limited to one user at a time.
- International Children's Digital LibraryA digital library of outstanding children's books from around the world.
The mission of the International Children's Digital Library Foundation (ICDL Foundation) is to support the world's children in becoming effective members of the global community - who exhibit tolerance and respect for diverse cultures, languages and ideas -- by making the best in children's literature available online free of charge. - Lexington Public LibraryThe Lexington Public Library has a much larger budget for children's books than we do. They have a wonderful collection and a very knowledgeable, helpful staff. All UK students can check out LPL books.
Math Curse Book
Math CurseCall Number: Educ Juvenile JE SCI
Find Articles
THESE ARE THE MAIN UK DATABASES FOR RESEARCH IN CHILDREN'S LITERATURE:
- Library Literature and Information Science Full Text
This link opens in a new window
(EBSCOhost) Indexing of over 380 selected library journals (over 100 full-text), books (more than 300 a year), conference proceedings, library school theses, pamphlets, and book reviews. - EBSCOhost
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to c. 50 databases with citations, abstracts and selected full-text. Includes Academic Search Complete, ERIC, PsycINFO, and and other subject-specific resources. Specific databases available through EBSCOhost are listed at the EBSCOhost site and in this directory. It is possible through the main EBSCOhost menu to choose multiple databases and search them all at the same time.
The following two databases can also be accessed by searching EBSCOhost above:
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(EBSCOhost) Covers a broad range of subjects. Indexes 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Indexes and abstracts more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals. Includes an Image Collection. - ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) [EBSCOhost]
- This link opens in a new window
Consists of two files:ERIC documents (EDs) and the Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE) file of journal article citations from over 1,000 journals. Both files provide abstracts. In addition, ERIC now contains over 2,200 ERIC Digest records that feature the full-text of the original document. Also provides coverage of conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs. - Project Muse
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable full-text access to over 300 humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers. - JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable full-text journal backfile collection. Good source for older journal material. Some journals go back to the 1800s. - Dissertations and Theses Global (ProQuest)
- This link opens in a new window
Includes references to for abstracts and full-text for 750,000 U.S., Canadian, British, and other European dissertations and theses, with detailed abstracts. (More Info) Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Many of the publications provide the full-text of the first 24 pages.
To search for University of Kentucky dissertations and theses in UK Libraries use InfoKat, the library system's online catalog.
You may also want to search for electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs) through the University of Kentucky Electronic Theses and Dissertations site and/or the Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations Find ETDs page.
Having trouble finding information on your topic?
Dissertations may not seem like an obvious resource for children's literature, but they are excellent tools for in-depth research. Search for "Harry Potter" in Dissertations and Theses Global (ProQuest) and you'll find many full-text dissertations from "Exploring the Harry Potter book series: A study of adolescent reading motivation" to "Harry Potter and the overly long commute: Trends in audio books."
Some examples of the 1200+ dissertations you'll find if you do a search for "children's literature ":
"The portrayal of caring teachers in children's literature: A content analysis"
"An investigation of authenticity and accuracy in children's realistic fiction picture books set in Appalachia"
"A critical history of the development of children's literature in Ghana"
"Contemporary children's literature set in Guam"
"An ethnographic content analysis of children's fiction picture books reflecting African American culture published 2001-2005"
"A post-colonial critique of the (mis)representation of Korean-Americans in children's picture books"
"Once upon an encounter: A content analysis of selected children's literature portraying the encounter of Christopher Columbus and the Taino people"
"Raising cultural awareness of second grade African American students using Mexican American children's literature"