It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This is a list of the primary journals in children's literature that are available via the services to which the Libraries subscribe; for
titles not on this list, please search, by journal title, in E-Journals A-Z.
For journals available in paper format only, please search InfoKat Discovery (by journal title).
Full text available from 2002 to present via EBSCOhost Academic Search Complete. A magazine designed for teachers, librarians, booksellers, parents and other interested adults in connecting children with books. Focuses on articles that target those people who educate children from preschool through eighth grade.
Devoted to the review of current books for children. Providing concise summaries and critical evaluations, this invaluable resource assists readers with questions regarding the ever-evolving children's literature field. Each issue of Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books includes expert reviews by a world-renowned staff.
Full-text available from 2003 to present via EBSCOhost's Academic Search Complete. Provides continuing education for librarians working with children, showcases current scholarly research and practice in library service to children, and spotlights significant activities and programs of the Association of Library Service for Children.
Full-text available from 1972 volume: 1 to present via Project Muse Standard Collection. Annual publication of the Modern Language Association Division on Children's Literature and the Children's Literature Association.
Encouraging serious scholarship and research, Children's Literature publishes theoretically-based articles that address key issues in the field. Each volume contains eight to ten articles, five to seven review essays, and an index. Some volumes also include a Varia section of shorter essays. Filled every year with outstanding articles and essays, Children's Literature has an international reputation as the pre-eminent publication in the field.
Full-text available from 1976 volume: 1 issue: 1 to present via Project Muse Standard Collection. With a new look and a new editorial staff, the Children's Literature Association Quarterly continues its tradition of publishing first-rate scholarship in Children's Literature Studies.
Recent articles include "The Narnian Schism: Reading the Christian Subtext as Other in the Children's Stories of C. S. Lewis," "Dusty, the Dyke Barbie," and "Playing Empire: Children's Parlor Games, Home Theatricals, and Improvisational Play." Each issue features an editorial introduction, juried articles about research and scholarship in children's literature, and book reviews. The Quarterly is available to members of the Children's Literature Association as a part of membership.
Full-text from 1970 volume: 1 issue:1 to present via Springer Standard Collection. Critical evaluation, analysis or commentary for librarians, teachers, students, writers and interested parents on social issues reflected in books, interviews with authors and illustrators and accounts of classroom practice and experience.
Full-text available from 1996 volume: 85 issue: 1 to present via National Council of Teachers of English (NCTE). NCTE's award-winning journal of ideas for English language arts teachers in junior and senior high schools and middle schools. It presents information on the teaching of writing and reading, literature, and language, and includes information on how teachers are putting the latest technologies to work in their classrooms.
Full-text available from 1990 to present via EBSCOhost Academic Search Complete. Reviews of the best children's books published, articles about children's books, explorations of children's books from every perspective and news of the children's book world.
Full-text available Available from 1997 volume: 74 issue: 1 to present via National Council of Teachers of English (NCTE). A professional journal for elementary and middle school teachers and teacher educators.
It provides a forum for discussions on all aspects of language arts learning and teaching, primarily as they relate to children in pre-kindergarten through the eighth grade. Issues present both theory and classroom practice, highlight current research, and review children's and young adolescent literature as well as classroom and professional materials of interest to language arts educators. (Published September, November, January, March, May, and July.)
Full-text available from 1977 volume: 1 issue: 1 to present via Project Muse Standard Collection.
Theme- and genre-centered journal of international scope committed to a serious, ongoing discussion of literature for children.
The journal's coverage includes the state of the publishing industry, regional authors, comparative studies of significant books and genres, new developments in theory, the art of illustration, the mass media, and popular culture. It has become noted for its interviews with authors, editors, and other important contributors to the field, such as Mildred Wirt Benson, Robert Cormier, Chris Crutcher, Lensey Namioka, Philip Pullman, and Aranka Siegal.
Full-text available from 1974 to present via EBSCOhost Academic Search Complete.
The most complete provider of news, information and reviews for librarians and media specialists who serve children and young adults in school and public libraries.
Full-text available from 2004 volume: 1 to present via Project Muse Standard Collection. Presents the growing body of critical commentary and scholarship on both J.R.R.Tolkien's voluminous fiction and his academic work in literary and linguistic fields.