Chinese Studies

Spanning three centuries, China: Culture and Society provides access to the Charles W. Wason Collection on East Asia, from Cornell University Library collection in its entirety. Mostly in English and published between c.1750 and 1929, these pamphlets focus on literature on China and the Chinese in the Western world, and address a wide variety of research interests and topics surrounding Chinese history, religion, culture and everyday life.

Full-text access (pdf and html) to nearly 7,000 journals published in China in business/economics (over 800 titles), arts/humanities (over 700 titles), law/politics (550 titles) and social sciences (over 1350 titles), health/medicine and biology (nearly 1200 titles), science and technology (nearly 2800 titles), and agriculture (over 500 titles).

This project provides a variety of original source material detailing China’s interaction with the West from Macartney’s first embassy to China in 1793 through to the Nixon/Health visits in 1972-74. It provides multiple perspectives – from politicians, diplomats, missionaries, business people and tourists - and documents many of the key events that happened in this period. It focuses on Chinese history generally and Sino-Western contacts over the last two centuries more specifically. Includes e.g., visual resources, original pamphlets, newspaper and journal runs, personal diaries, and diplomatic papers. Also includes summary essays, a set of biographies of key figures, and external links to other digital resources.

Offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to 1963 and contains over 1.7 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers.

Searchable full-text journal backfile collection. Individual titles are listed in the E-Journals A-Z.

Multi-disciplinary full-text database with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Indexes and abstracts more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.

Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations.