Books & Articles
The Cold War by Publication Date: 2003The massive disorder and economic ruin following the Second World War inevitably predetermined the scope and intensity of the Cold War. But why did it last so long? And what impact did it have on the United States, the Soviet Union, Europe, and the Third World? Finally, how did it affect the broader history of the second half of the twentieth century - what were the human and financial costs? This Very Short Introduction provides a clear and stimulating interpretive overview of the Cold War, one that will both invite debate and encourage deeper investigation.
Article Databases
- America: History and LifeProvides access to citations and abstracts of journal literature, reviews, and dissertations on the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada from prehistoric times to the present. Covers over 2,000 journals.
- Historical AbstractsCovers events from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada). The database provides annotated bibliographic entries from 2,000 journals published worldwide.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowFull-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Indexes and abstracts more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
- JSTORSearchable full-text journal backfile collection. Individual titles are listed in E-Journals A-Z.
Key Journals with Full-Text Access (Selected)
- American Historical ReviewThe American Historical Review (AHR) is the official publication of the American Historical Association.
- Journal of American HistoryThe Journal of American History is the official academic journal of the Organization of American Historians.
Search tips for finding books
To find books at UK Libraries search using InfoKat Discovery.
(Note: You can also find articles and all other types of formats searching in InfoKat Discovery, but for a more targeted, powerful search to locate relevant articles try the database's native interface.)
Try starting with a keyword search
- Enter words that describe your topic (names, places, events, etc.).
- When you find a book on your topic, examine its subject headings for relevance to your topic.
- Click on a hyperlinked subject heading to perform a subject heading search and retrieve related books.
Serendipity through browsing the stacks
Often times you'll find relevant books on your topic just by simply browsing the stacks.
Try browsing the following call number ranges:
- E743-743.5: United States. Twentieth Century. General. Political history
- E743.5: United States. Twentieth Century. General. Political history. Un-American activities
- E744-744.5: United States. Twentieth Century. General. Diplomatic history. Foreign and general relations
- E813-816: United States. Twentieth Century. Truman's administrations, April 12, 1945-1953
- E835-837.7: United States. Twentieth Century. Eisenhower's administrations, 1953-1961
- E839.5-839.8: United States. Later twentieth century, 1961-2000. General. Political history.
- E839.8: United States. Later twentieth century, 1961-2000. General. Political history. Un-American activities
- E840-840.2: United States. Later twentieth century, 1961-2000. General. Diplomatic history. Foreign and general relations
- E841-843: United States. Later twentieth century, 1961-2000. Kennedy's administration, 1961-November 22, 1963
- E846-851: United States. Later twentieth century, 1961-2000. Johnson's administrations, November 22, 1963-1969
- E855-861: United States. Later twentieth century, 1961-2000. Nixon's administrations, 1969-August 9, 1974
- E876-880: United States. Later twentieth century, 1961-2000. Reagan's administrations, 1981-1989
For more detailed call number information see:
- H -- SOCIAL SCIENCES - WP version - Word version
- K -- LAW - WP version - Word version
- D -- WORLD HISTORY AND HISTORY OF EUROPE, ASIA, AFRICA, AUSTRALIA, NEW ZEALAND, ETC. - WP version - Word version
- E -- HISTORY OF THE AMERICAS - WP version - Word version
- F -- HISTORY OF THE AMERICAS - WP version - Word version
William T. Young Library - full floor map