Black Historical Newspapers
- African American Newspapers (from Accessible Archives)
This link opens in a new window
Nineteenth century newspaper collection that includes The Christian Recorder, The Colored American/Weekly Advocate, Frederick Douglass’ Paper/Douglass' Monthly, Freedmen's Journal (Freedmen's Record), Freedom’s Journal, The National Era, The Negro Business League Herald, The North Star, and Provincial Freeman. - African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
- This link opens in a new window
Now featuring 345 newspapers published in 36 states; full-text searchable. - New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993)
- This link opens in a new window
From ProQuest Historical Newspapers.
General National Historical Newspapers
- Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
This link opens in a new window
Access to scanned newspaper pages from 1690-present and information about other American newspapers published between 1690-present. Sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).
- Newspapers.com
- This link opens in a new window
Our Newspapers.com portal provides online access to all the newspaper content digitized by University of Kentucky Libraries. It also includes public domain content from Newspapers.com. - New York Times Historical Edition
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable full-text from ProQuest, with keyword searching and date limiting. This title is part of Proquest Historical Newspapers.
Kentucky Historical Newspapers
- Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers - KentuckyCoverage: 1847-1922
- 19th Century U.S. Newspapers
- This link opens in a new window
[Louisville Courier-Journal coverage: 1879-1889] - Kentucky Digital Newspapers Program
- This link opens in a new window
Kentucky's National Digital Newspaper Program (KY-NDNP) website offers comprehensive lists of the University of Kentucky's digitized historic newspapers available in both the Kentucky Digital Library and the Library of Congress' Chronicling America. The website also provides an extensive "how-to" on historic newspaper digitization per the NDNP specifications. - NewspaperArchive.com Kentucky Collection
- This link opens in a new window
NewspaperArchive.com contains newspaper pages from 1607 to 1970. UK Libraries subscribes to content from Kentucky. Every newspaper in the archive is fully searchable by keyword and date. - UK Libraries Microfilm Holdings Database
- This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to the University of Kentucky's holdings of microfilm masters, including newspapers as well as other primary sources. Not all Kentucky newspapers available for viewing are included in this database (e.g., The Lexington Herald-Leader and The Courier-Journal). To find other available Kentucky newspapers, search the InfoKat Discovery Library Catalog or consult the librarians at the Reference Desk.
Accessing Microfilm at UK Libraries
To view microform materials, please make an appointment. While same-day appointments may be possible, 24-hour notice is appreciated (and required on weekends).
Tuskegee Institute News Clippings File on Microfilm
- Young Library Ready Reference - Microform Guides B 94-3 guide
- Young Library Periodicals Desk Microfilm B 94-3
Subject: Lynching
- 1899-1919 - Reel 221
- 1919-1922 - Reel 222
- 1922-1924 - Reel 223
- 1924-1926 - Reel 224
- 1926-1929 - Reel 225
- 1929-1931 - Reel 226
- 1931-1933 - Reel 227
- 1933-1934 - Reel 228
- 1934-1935 - Reel 229
- 1936-1938 - Reel 230
- 1939-1940 - Reel 231
- 1940-1943 - Reel 232
- 1943-1948 - Reel 233
- 1948-1953 - Reel 234
- 1953-1957 - Reel 235
- 1958-1966 - Reel 236
In citing these clippings, researchers should credit both the original publications and the microfilm edition.