Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Glossary of Library Terms: Glossary Links

Glossary Links

Here's a list with links to the glossary terms.  If you simply copy and paste the links below, your link will open in a new full window.

However, if you want, you can edit the HTML of your page and place the simple link code:

<a href="http://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#citation">citation</a>

with this new code:

<a href="#" onclick="MyWindow=window.open('http://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#citation','MyWindow','toolbar=no,location=no,directories=no,status=no, menubar=no,scrollbars=yes,resizable=yes,width=600,height=100'); return false;">citation</a>

(Replace the "#citation" with the appropriate code from the table below and change the term before the </a> at the end.)  If you do that, your link will open in a small pop-up.


abstract

http://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#abstract


academic journal

http://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#academicjournal


accession number

http://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#accessionnumber


​Aeon

http://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#aeon


annotated bibliography

http://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#annotated


archival materials

http://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#archivalmat


archival value/research value

http://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#archivalval


archived

http://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#archived


archives

http://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#archives


AV/audio-visual

http://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#av

 


background information

http://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#background
 

bibliography

http://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#bibliography

 

born-digital

http://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#borndigital

 

Book Express

http://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#bookexpress

 

bound journal

http://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#bound

 


 

call number

http://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#call

 

catalog

http://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#cat

 

Circulation

http://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#circ

 

citation

http://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#citation

 

collection guide

http://libguides.uky.edu/glossaryterms#collectionsguide

 

concept

http://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#concept

 

controlled vocabulary

http://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#controlled


course guide

http://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#courseguide
 

course reserves

http://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#courseres


current periodicals

http://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#currentpers

 


 

database

http://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#db


depository

http://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#depository


descriptor

http://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#descriptor


digital library

http://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#digitallibrary


digitized

http://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#digitized


Document Delivery

http://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#docdel

 


 

e-book

http://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#ebook


e-journal

http://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#ejournal


E-Journals A-Z

http://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#ejournaldb


e-reserves

http://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#eres


EBSCO

http://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#ebsco


embargo

http://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#embargo


endnotes/footnotes

http://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#endnotes


explode

http://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#explode

 

ExploreUK

http://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#exploreuk


extent

http://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#extent


EZproxy

http://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#ezp

 


 

finding aid

http://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#finding


format

http://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#format

 


 

government document

http://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#govdoc

 


 

hold

http://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#hold


holdings

http://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#holdings

 


 

ILLiad

http://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#illiad


in transit

http://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#intransit

index

http://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#index

InfoKat Discovery

http://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#infokat


information literacy

http://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#infolit


Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

http://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#ill

 


 

journal

http://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#journal

 


 

Kentucky Digital Library

http://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#kdl


keyword

http://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#keyword

 


 

LC

http://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#lc


library account

http://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#libacct


library catalog

http://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#libcat

 


 

manuscript

http://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#manuscript


MESH

http://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#mesh


microform

http://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#microform


monograph

http://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#monograph

 


 

non-circulating

http://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#noncirc

 


 

open access

http://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#openaccess


oral history

http://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#oralhistory

 


 

patron

http://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#patron


peer reviewed journal

http://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#peerreview


periodical

http://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#periodical


plagiarism

http://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#plagiarism


primary source

http://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#primary


primary research article

https://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#prresearchart


public domain

http://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#public

 


 

recall

http://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#recall


records

http://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#rec


refereed journal

http://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#refereed
 

reference

http://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#reference

 

reference books/databases/material/works

http://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#refworks

 

Reference Services

http://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#refdept


reserves

http://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#reserves


Research Account (SCRC)

http://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#researcheracct


Research Guide

http://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#resguide

 


 

scholarly journal


http://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#scholarlyj
 

secondary source

https://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#secondsource


source

http://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#source


special collections

http://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#special


stacks

http://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#stacks


subject (heading)

http://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#subject


SuDoc

http://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#sudoc

 


 

thesaurus

http://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#thesaurus


trade journal

http://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#trade


truncate (v.), truncation (n.)

http://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#truncate

 


 

UKnowledge

http://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#uknowledge

 


 

Vital records or vital government documents

http://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#vitalrec
 


 

WildCard ID

http://libguides.uky.edu/glossary/terms#wildcard